Skip to content

Buttermilk Cookies

July 11, 2008

I mentioned in my previous post that I’d come across some recipes to use up any buttermilk I might have in my fridge.  I tend to buy a carton for a recipe and then never use the rest of it– not sure why really, but thought I should add a few buttermilk dedicated recipes to my repertoire— you know… just in case.  I had just the buttermilk in my fridge.  I had bought it for a gluten-free cornbread mix I had made for a visiting friend of my daughters and it was languishing in the back of my fridge.  Fortunately, it lasts a while, and I was able to find the buttermilk cookie recipe (by chance of course, because I had forgotten the carton was even in there as usual) before the date on the carton.

So today was my buttermilk cookie day.  All went well.  No glitches, cursing or even burnt trays.  I really had no idea what to expect and I was pleased with them.  The batter had the consistency of some cake batters I had made, and indeed they are little cake cookies.  I would have liked the lemon flavor stronger myself, but I try to not mess with a recipe the first time with it.  My son tried them and deemed them “sour”.  This description does match up with ezrapoundcake‘s description as “tangy” so his acute sense of taste has been noted for furture tasting needs.

We now have a cookie jar full.  The true test will be how long it stays full.  I could very well have turned languishing buttermilk into languishing cookies.  We will see.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

