Skip to content

Artisan Baking: 2nd go.

August 9, 2008

Sticky buns! Who doesn’t love ‘em?  Even I, very selective in the sweet breakfast foods I love (I’m not a donut in the morning kind of gal), love them!  So…. having successfully baked the basic bread recipe from Artisan Baking (who by the way have their own site) I thought I should give their sticky buns made with challah bread a whirl.

They actually write their recipe to be made with either the brioche or the challah, but when I was mixing up the dough I only had enough eggs to make the challah, so challah it was.  It really did mix up in minutes, then I left it on my counter while I wandered off to check email and read for a bit.  Unfortunately, I had mixed this up rather late in the evening, and I found my self dozing off before the 2 hour rest time was up.  Fortunately, even though I stuck it in the fridge after about an hour, maybe 90 minutes, it finished rising and doing its thing in my fridge!  My kind of dough.  I need a little forgiveness and flexibility in my live now and again.

Major drawback to this recipe–time.  After your dough is ready (it can be used directly after the 2 hour rest period, or the next day, or the next… until 5 days later [and then, if you really can’t get to it, you can freeze it]) it still takes approximately 2 hours before the sticky buns are ready to eat.  That put a cramp in my plan to make these for breakfast for the kids, because, of course, when they wake up they want to eat within a half hour- tops– and I was not waking up 2 hours before them just to serve them hot sticky buns.  I love them, but I also love my sleep.  So a couple days later I relinquished my dream of sticky buns and tea with my children in the morning, and revised it into, sticky buns and tea after lunch.  

 

Please don't count my pecans!

Please don't count my pecans!

 

 

Why the two hours?  After you make up the sugar coating for the bottom of the pan and sprinkle precisely 30 pecan halves (who is going to count that out? I did two handfuls of pecan pieces with no adverse affects–more forgiveness and flexibility), roll your dough out (to what size rectangle, by the way, was not noted and slightly irked my perfectionist side– it’s subtle but it does exist) and sprinkle the sugary, nutty goodness into it, and then roll and cut it into the rolls, the buns must still sit for 1 hour in the pan.  Then they bake for about 40 minutes (mine took about 45).  If I was an early riser and was puttering around the house anyway, this wouldn’t matter much, because the hands on time is not long (rolling the dough etc took about 15 minutes), but with two kids those type of mornings are few and far between.  However, I could see a recipe like this being used quite nicely, on say, Christmas morning.

Whatever my reservations about this recipe, it was delicious, and well worth the hours of wait time. Yummy, scrummy sugary goodness, all washed down with a cold glass of milk— for lunch.  But don’t tell my kids– I’m making them wait until after.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2008 8:39 pm

    Wow! These look delicious and I have been thinking of making something special for breakfast… Thanks for the idea and your great site! Now, as an idea, would it be possible if you made the dough with cold water, let it rise in the fridge to retard it, and put it back in the fridge after shaping, that they still might work for breakfast? Just pop them in the oven as soon as you get up?

  2. jessbcuz permalink*
    August 9, 2008 9:12 pm

    Good idea… I wonder it their site might deal with this– i shall do a little research– When I make scones I always do that– prep the night before all the way to baking– then refridgerate and pop in the oven when I get up in the morning… just didn’t know if that would work for a yeast recipe or not….
    thanks for the great suggestion!

  3. August 10, 2008 3:11 pm

    I am inspired to try other recipes in this book, despite the delays in time, etc. The buns look delicious. So far I have only tried the basic boule recipe and have been dying to explore the book a little more, particularly the sweet stuff.

  4. August 11, 2008 3:15 am

    Those look perfect. I just love your placemat and napkin for your children. What a sweet sweet touch from their mother.

  5. August 11, 2008 4:01 pm

    Thanks for mentioning our book (I’m one of the co-authors)! Beautiful job on the sticky buns.

    I’m Jeff Hertzberg, one of the co-authors of Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I’m so glad our recipes are working well for you. Come visit us anytime at http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com, where you can post questions into any “Comments” field, or click on “Bread Questions” on the left side of the homepage and choose among the options.

    Jeff Hertzberg
    http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com

  6. August 14, 2008 3:04 pm

    I’m Jeff Hertzberg, one of the co-authors of Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day.

    You should be able to retard overnight, we’ve done this; come visit us anytime at http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com and let us know how it comes out. You can post questions into any “Comments” field, or click on “Bread Questions” on the left side of the homepage and choose among the options.

    Jeff Hertzberg
    http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com

    Chicago tribune video: http://us.macmillan.com/BookCustomPage.aspx?isbn=9780312362911&m_type=2&m_contentid=119255#video

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

