Skip to content

Musty Cupboards No More (and other exciting adventures)

March 9, 2010

Old magazines.

A few years ago I did a big purge.  I finally admitted to myself that I did not need to keep 10 years worth of magazines.  In fact, I didn’t even need to keep one year’s.  Now, my practice is to donate them as soon as I’ve finished them.  If there is a recipe I want to try, I try it.  If I don’t get to it in a month or so, chances are I won’t get to it at all.

But this is a relatively new practice for me.  For years I saved (and saved and saved) magazines.  I was convinced I was going to try all those recipes and that by moving that magazine on, I was losing irreplacable resources.  Then I realized two things.  One: all this “irreplaceable” content is being archived on the internet and oh, so easy to access (epicurious.com and cookinglight.com and all the rest).  I also realized that ideas are rehashed, redone, and re-invented, so if I don’t get to it in 1999, it will probably come around again in 2002 (and then again in 2003, 2005, and so on).

I was reminded of all this as I was pulling out some linens to loan to a friend (who threw her FIRST(!!) tea party).  Behind these infrequently used napkins and tablecloths I found a stockpile of forgotten (and musty and mildewy) magazines.  I pulled them out and moved them onto the recycle bin (too old and smelly to donate), but not before I took a quick look to see what I thought worth saving a few years back.

Nothing much to remark on, but I did find one lone magazine that dated to my high school days: Victoria circa 1992 (oh, how I loved Victoria when I was in high school and how I imagined myself into all those romantic fashions and landscapes!). 

I’d forgotten those Jessica McClintock ads (large lacy collared dresses),

and was almost lured into saving this issue for a cute little article on a minature children’s tea (button tarts, for goodness sakes!)….

…but my common sense won out.

Into the bin it went!

Now, I’ve got some more cupboard space (although a bit musty and airing out as we speak), and feel accomplished although I haven’t done anything much at all.  Most of all, I feel thankful for the internet and especially Google;  finding old (and new) ideas, is only a search away.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Shari GOODMAN permalink
    April 12, 2010 5:13 am

    I salute you! Sometimes the old has to move over to make room for what is new and yet to come. . . hard though it is!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. April 19, 2010 11:12 am

    If only I could be so logical. Yes, I’ve pitched years of old magazines … but before long I seem to have another huge stack … ok it’s more than one stack … and the process starts over again.
    Nice post.

  3. Katie B permalink
    June 8, 2010 8:15 pm

    Just a suggestion: I take all my old magazines to the local library and they sell them in their little bookshop. The little bluehaired ladies who work there are charming. The only requirement is that magazines be less than 2 years old.

    Another option is to take them to the ER waiting room since, of course, no one is prepared enough to bring something to read when they go to the ER.

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      June 8, 2010 8:28 pm

      Katie B!!!
      You are inspiring me to update with a post real soon.
      Yes, I also lug these to the library–but never thought of the ER waiting room.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

