Skip to content

It has been a while, hasn’t it….

July 25, 2010

[a beach find from a much needed day at the beach yesterday with momma-friends and all our kids]

I recently read a book that was a quiet study of life (Exiles in the Garden).  At the end of this book, in which nothing spectacular happened and half the main characters die not very spectacularly, I was reminded of the ebb and flow of our days.  I was able for many months to semi-regularly update this blog.  But then it seemed I just wasn’t.  Four months since my last post and nothing terribly different in my schedule.  A little re-prioritizing as I try to shift gears post M.A., but nothing earth-shattering.  None-the-less, it has been a while, hasn’t it?

Yet, I have been missing this little moment of my own.  This small bit of writing I get to do, the large amount of sharing.  And I’ve been collecting pictures, recipes, and thinking about posts–which means I have a lot of sharing to catch up on!  I wanted to start right in with some recipes I tried out, but each time I sat down in the last couple weeks to type, one of my children was at my elbow needing Momma for this or that.  And in the evenings, after years of late-night homework or volunteer work, it has been so nice to just veg out a bit with my husband.  So instead of putting together the post I wanted to, I’ve got this.  A tentative toe-in-the-water.  A quiet hello.

In the morning we are off to the beach.  Four days away from our home.  From our everyday chores.  Four days to read, read, and read. (Little Bird of Heaven, The Professor and Other Writings, and Every Last One are in my bag along with a couple mags)   And I will watch the kids play in the sand and the waves (small baby ones where we’re going), snapping some pics as I can.  But… I am hoping that I will also take a little time for this blog and post a couple things I have waiting in the wings.

What have you been reading, doing, sewing, writing?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sandy from tassie permalink
    July 29, 2010 7:41 pm

    Welcome back Jess!

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      July 29, 2010 7:56 pm

      Thanks, Sandy! Glad to be at it again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

