Skip to content

crafthope: my second go!

July 29, 2010

[homemade cases bring a bit of home with us on our car trips]

I’m all signed up to tackle the latest craft hope project (project 9).  My friend and I completed scarfs in February for their project 6.  I missed a few projects in between, but this one looks like a good fit for me (and hopefully a few friends).  This project involves making homemade pillowcases for terminally ill children, coordinated to coincide with Childhood Cancer Awareness month in September.

Craft Hope Spreading seeds of hope one stitch at a time

My own children have been the lucky recipients of homemade pillow cases (thanks to one of my crafty aunties who loves to sew), and I know how much cheeriness and love they can bring.  When we travel (as we are right now!), these are the cases their pillows go in.  She even made them Halloween-themed ones that double as candy-collecting sacks!  Lucky kids, eh?

Although I’ve made curtains galore, a few duvet covers (including one for a king bed that turned me off of them forever–so much fabric to deal with!), and some pillow shams and simple covers for couch pillows, I have yet to make a simple pillow case.  My aunt makes her with three coordinating fabrics and lovely french seams, and these are the ones I’m hoping to tackle (and hopefully use this bookmark from Bari J. I saved ages ago to accomplish it!).

But I’m also planning on using this project to give my daughter a chance to practice sewing, and for that I may just use the simpler version provided by ConKerr Cancer.  I’m already setting up a date to get my friends and their daughters and our sewing machines together.  This seems like the perfect project to get us all crafting together.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 6:30 pm

    Oh, I can do this. I haven’t helped with this cause yet and have wanted to. Pillow cases are my speed right now because of the way my summer is going. My mom sent me directions to a pillow case similar to the one’s of Bari J, so if you want those, let me know. They are the ones she sent us last Christmas for the kids to use on Christmas Eve. Thanks for the great idea to help someone.

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      July 29, 2010 7:57 pm

      Fantastic! I’m aiming to get mine done by mid-August. I may start right in this weekend!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

