Skip to content

Hollyhocks and more firsts….

August 21, 2007

img_1086.jpg

I just wanted to post quickly about two firsts this week- ok three.

The first I am so excited, and I dare say, proud about. My very first grown in my garden hollyhock is blooming! And it was worth the wait. I actually must admit I did not grow these from seed but purchased them as small plants at a local hardware store. The fact that I didn’t plant them from seed is probably a good thing since my zinnia seeds did not come up this year; doubly disturbing because those are the type of seeds a child is supposed to be able to grow! [Just in case you’re interested in gardening with children here is another cool link that doesn’t mention zinnias (maybe with good reason!) but looks like an excellent resource for gardening with kids. I’ll have to post another time about my experiences gardening with kids; hit and miss as is the norm with all my gardening!]

Ok, to come fully clean, I actually planted 3 or 4 of these starters and only one is blooming but I’m calling that as SUCCESS! It is shaped like an umbrella handle, goes straight down and then hooks to the left- I’m guessing the sun exposure directly over the plant wasn’t suffiecient and I’m more then willing to overlook such faults. To me, like my children, it is gorgeous and perfect! And such a wonderful color! Unlike my dahlias, which disappointed me greatly as out of the many many (many many many) I planted ONLY the white ones bloomed, this hollyhock is studpendous. I guess I should quickly explain why the white dahlias were not met with such rave reviews– I had bought the white ones mainly to offset the other colors, but as the other colors did not bloom it is a little blah…. Ah well.

img_1085.jpg

Before I gush on too long about my hollyhock, I’ll move on to my other first. We are joining a CSA! I wrote briefly about this in my first or second post, inspired and reminded by another bloggers post and promptly emailed a local farm about joining theirs. I was initially a bit dissappointed as their CSA is actually so popular there is a waiting list!!! I guess that speaks volumes about the area I live in- which I will take as a good thing- but I was still a little let down. Meanwhile I joined their waiting list and expected a 3-4 month wait until either someone decided to drop out of the CSA or they expanded their plantings. But!!! (of course there is a but, otherwise why would I spend all this time writing about it!) An email!!!

They have an opening on the day I requested and I’ve repsonded that yes, yes we’d like it! So, hopefully starting next week- but I really have no particulars- we will begin picking up our year-round CSA veggies bin. There is also a fruit and/or bread option you can add. I had no idea there would be so many choices to make, but excited about the possiblities and yummy local organic produce we will be having from now on. The nicest thing is that the farm where I will be picking up is not too far from my children’s school so I will probably bring them with me after I pick them up and give them a little exposure to the rich agricultural world of our county.

Last first. (Love how that sounds.)

I finished teaching my first class as a grad student. I’d like to say it went fabulously, but… it went great! I didn’t connect as much as I would have liked to with the students but part of that is my personality and I’m just going to have to work with that. I did however stay fairly organized, on task and impart what I wanted the first day. Second day? No idea! I’ve got a “plan” but really need to look at it. And then there’s the issue of whether or not they will read their assignment. And what do I do about it if they don’t? And so on….. But for today I am feeling good. Glad I’m past the first day with only a couple minor clumsy mishaps in front of the students (rather good for me) and home with out tears (not so surprising since i”m not really a crier, but wouldn’t it have been terrible if I was in tears then?).

I guess today I’m just reveling in all the firsts I can still experience 30 odd years into life! So many experiences, oppurtunities, and plants out there to try. I don’t always feel this way but today I am in awe of all my options. Oh- and ready for a nap.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mylifewithmymonster permalink
    August 21, 2007 11:33 pm

    Congrats! On the holly hock they are beautiful. Just incase nobody has told you….they will only bloom every second year. So the ones that didn’t bloom this year might bloom next year. I wanted to plant them so bad but we don’t own our house and don’t know how long we will live here so I didn’t want to be disappointed. One of my all time favorite plants are peonies. There was one planted here when we moved in and it was so BEAUTIFUL. I should put a picture on my blog. Just keep on trying those plants.

  2. jessbcuz permalink*
    August 22, 2007 3:05 am

    Peony? I am jealous. I have planted them a few times, but they have yet to bloom. This year they did at least stay green and come up to a respectable height (I finally read the directions carefully and realized to plant them less then 2 inches deep instead of more than two inches deep like I did the first time). I’ve heard that often they don’t bloom until year 2 or 3 so I’m holding out hope for next year. They are my favorite! Thanks for the advice about the hollyhocks blooming the second year. My neighbor mentioned it, but for some reason I keep forgetting and just feeling sad about them. But I am renewed and will leave them where they are and hope for blooms next year! Try, try again….

Leave a Reply

