Skip to content

“I really shouldn’t have one more!” (my husband)

July 5, 2008

But he did!    In fact he had about 10 more  Fried Potatoes.  They were terribly addictive but the taste wasn’t the only thing to be celebrated.  We used the oregano from our CSA box (!) and tried a new recipe from a new addition to my cookbook library.

We joined a CSA late last summer, but have noted that some ingredients (ones we don’t typically buy) tend to not get used up before they go bad.  I decided since I have a bit more time this summer to make an effort to try some new recipes and use up our CSA goodies.  Although I’ve given up on recipes for turnips (I’ve decided to admit I don’t like them) for other ingredients we get in our box I hit my cookbook indexes, especially trying out some of my newer additions, such as Mediterranean Harvest by Martha Rose Shulman that joined the shelf sometime during last semester only to collect dust until now.  

I wasn’t doing much (ok…. ANY) cooking last semester as my schedule had me gone 3 nights a week, and doing homework the other nights, but I’ve had grand plans for this summer.  I have in fact done quite well, making a blackberry-apple crisp and chocolate cookies from Nigella’s latest, and searching out this recipe for today to use our oregano.  But did I make this one?  No.  I have been busy reorganizing closets and my sewing area.  While I created a royal mess throughout the house emptying closets and making givaway piles, my husband did the cooking tonight.  But I should get some credit for planning the meal, right?

Here is the recipe, slightly amended from Shulman’s cookbook.  We had it with greens (I spritzed mine with balsamic and sprinkled feta on top), and tri-tip.  But these were the star tonight.

FRIED POTATOES WITH TOMATOES AND OREGANO

1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

4 medium potatoes, preferably Yukon golds, scurbbed, peeled if desired, and cut into thin wedges or 1/4 x 1/2 x 2-inch sticks

Salt and freshly ground peper

1 1/2 tsp. fresh oregano 

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 can (14 oz) chopped tomatoes, with juice

1. Heat oil in a wide nonstick skillet (we used our large cast iron) over med-high heat and add half the potatoes.  Cook, turning, until nicey browned and cooked through, about 10 min.  Season with salt, pepper, and 1/2 tsp of the oregano.  Transfer with a slotted spoon to a serving dish or platter, leaving the oil in the pan.  Cook the remaining potatoes, season them, and transfer to the serving dish.

2.  Pour off all but 1 Tbsp. of the oil and add the garlic to the skillet.  Cook, stirring, until fragrant, 30 seconds to 1 minutes.  Add the tomatoes, season with salt, pepper, and remaining oregano, and cook until the tomatoes thicken and smell fragrant, 5 to 10 min.  Taste and adjust seasonings.   Either pour the tomato sauce directly over potates, or use as a dip.

Note: You can make ahead of time and reheat potatoes in oven (350 for 15 min) or microwave if you desire.  Sauce would be equally good hot or cold.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

