Skip to content

Muffin Accomplished!

July 9, 2008

Well, I’ve done it.  I made those muffins mentioned on Sunday and we finished off the last of them today.  My final verdict– good, but a bit too sweet.  I added sunflower seeds and raisins to them and that helped, but considering that I don’t normally have buttermilk around my house, I’m not sure this is a recipe I will make again (unless of course I have some buttermilk to use up, but I’ve found a couple other contending recipes including this one for buttermilk cookies from a newly discovered blog, ezrapoundcake.com).  Instead I will probably stick to my old standby healthy muffin recipe, but try some new variations with granola, wheat bran and the sunflower seeds.  Here is the basic recipe that I normally make (with any of my changes/preferences noted) originally from The Vegetarian Family Cookbook by Nava Atlas.

Basic Muffins

2 cups w.w. pastry flour

2 Tbs wheat germ or ground flaxseeds

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/3 cup natural granulated sugar

1 cup vanilla yogurt, soy yogurt or applesauce ( I use applesauce)

2 Tbs safflower oil (any vegetable oil seems to work fine)

1/3 cup low-fat milk, rice milk, or soy milk, or as needed (I use milk because that is what is in our house, but if your vegan this would be an easy recipe to convert)

Additional optional ingredients that I normally add:

1 cup raisins 

cinnamon

1 smashed banana

1. preheat oven to 350 & prepare muffin cups with liners or oil

2. combine dry ingredients, including sugar

3. make a well in the center of dry and pour in wet ingredients.  Stir until thoroughly combined.

4. Stir in any additions and pour into tins.

5. Bake for 20-25 min or until knife comes clean.

Now having made the Family Fun recipe I’ll probably add sunflower seeds to the batter, top with granola, and experiment with substituting part of the flour for wheat bran, perhaps 3/4 of a cup.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

