Skip to content

Summer Breakfast: Peach Cobbler

July 13, 2008

First off I really must warn you– this is not a typical southern recipe.  This is more of the Northern California 70’s pseduo-hippy mom recipe.  The actual description should be Honey-Whole Wheat-Peach Cobbler– but it’s what I grew up on so I knew no differently and love it best.  This is something that my mom made but I’m not sure where she got the recipe from.  My dad did a lot of the cooking when I was a kid- dinners, packing our lunches, making breakfast– but my mom usually did the baking.  In the summer we could count on peach cobbler at least a few times, and when the blackberries were ripe and someone had headed down the block to the empty fields where they grew to pick a bowl full, we would get a blackberry peach cobbler—mmmmm.  

I loved to eat this warm with melting vanilla ice cream (always Haagen-Daaz of course), but even more so for breakfast the next day (it usually didn’t last much longer than that).  A sweet breakfast was special treat in our house of whole grain cereal or oatmeal sweetened with raisins and milk only; cold peach cobbler with a large glass of cold milk was mighty fine!

 

So it being summer and all and organic peaches being on sale this week I thought I really should make this before I had to wait another year, because even though you can use frozen peaches there is something about using fresh.  I made two smaller ones tonight, one for a potluck, and one for breakfast tomorrow! It’ll be a nice change from my yogurt and granola and my kids will be thrilled.

 

Honey (Whole Wheat) Peach Cobbler

3 lbs peachers, peeled, pitter and sliced or 2 1 lb pkgs unsweetend frozen peach slices, partially defrosted

3 TBSP lemon juice

1/2 cup honey

2 TBSP cornstarch mixed with 2 TBSP water

2 TBSP butter

1 recipe whole wheat and honey topping (see below)


Preheat oven to 400 place the peaches in a shallow 3 qt baking dish.  Stir in the lemon juice, honey, and cornstarch mixture.  Dot with pieces of the butter.  Prepare topping and drop by spoonfuls onto fruit mixture, leaving space in between– it will spread a bit and some gaps are desirable to see the peaches peeking through.  Bake for 30 to 35 minues or until topping is well browned.  Serve warm or cool, with vanilla ice cream or milk, morning or night.

Topping:

1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour (tonight I used 3/4 cups whole wheat & 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour)

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 cup cold butter 

1/2 cup milk

1/4 cup honey

In a bowl, stir together whole wheat flour, baking powder, salt, ground cinnamon, and nutmeg.  With a pastry blender, cut in cold butter or margarine until well blended.  Stir together milk and honey; add to bowl, stirring until combined.  

Note: If you want to make a blackberry/peach cobbler substitute some of the peaches for blackberries.  Simple and delish!

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. frogophobic permalink
    September 17, 2008 12:58 am

    I found your blog today via a Google search for “honey peach cobbler.” I love it and LOVED this recipe. We have already eaten half of it. Thanks!

  2. jessbcuz permalink*
    September 17, 2008 2:38 am

    Thanks so much for the comment! I’m glad you’re enjoying the cobbler…. I think it might be time to make another soon….

  3. June 5, 2011 6:08 pm

    I was looking for a healthier alternative to the traditional peach cobbler that we make here in the South 🙂 I use honey in everything so your recipe was just what I was looking for. I tried it this evening for our family night dinner and it was delicious! Thanks so much for sharing.

  4. July 23, 2012 6:41 pm

    This is AH-ma-zing! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe – it will definitely be my go-to peach treat now.

  5. Rebecca permalink
    October 1, 2012 6:37 pm

    I made this last summer and just came back for the recipe again. It’s simple and delicious! I use soft white whole wheat and it turns out great. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Preserving Summer: Jam time « jessBcuz
  2. Food & Friends: a thank you « jessBcuz
  3. Whole Wheat Peach Cobbler

Leave a Reply

