Skip to content

TWD: Better late than never

July 31, 2008

 

Summer fruit waiting to be transformed

Summer fruit waiting to be transformed

 

 

Technically I am not fulfilling the TWD rules this week, so it will not count towards my participation this month (which means I will do next weeks recipe as well), but I had all the ingredients and had wanted to make this one anyway.  And so I did.  At least it is still summer, and therefore fitting for the Summer Gallette recipe chosen for this week.

 

I bought some nectarines, peaches and plums at our CSA yesterday when we went to get our box of farm goodness (oh! the glorious summer tomatoes and basil in there!).  And finally this afternoon I found a little space of time to put this together.  Wonderfully it really did not take long, but it did take a bit of forethought because the butter for the dough needed to be frozen, and then the dough itself needed to be chilled.  Other than that it basically made itself in no time.

I have to say, I’m always a bit afraid of pastry.  My friend is a whiz at it, but I find it troubling and usually avoid it.  I’ve had some luck, but more frustration, ripped crusts, and mishaps than I care to list here.  It was a lovely suprise to have this crust come together so quickly and easily in the food processor (brilliant!).  Even better, it tasted devine!  Light and buttery.  Dare I say…flakey?

 

My leaky lucious gallette

My leaky lucious gallette

 

 

I love making this kind of pastry over a pie in a dish– the free form crust suits my non-perfectionist style much better and saves time , as well as dishes to be washed!  I have made similar desserts, mainly working from Ina Garten’s (Barefoot Contessa) recipe for Apple Crostata in her Parties! cookbook.  (Here is another of her crostata recipes I was able to find online) This cookbook is one of the most stained and tabbed books in my collection, precisely for these types of simple, flavorful recipes. Her crostata differs from Dorie’s gallette mainly in the topping.  Dorie used the custard, Ina a light crumb topping.  Honestly, I couldn’t taste the custard enough to warrant the extra step– I could taste the fruit and the crust and that was enough for me with a great big glass of milk– but… I was eating it quite warm in order to be able to post this evening.  Perhaps the custard comes into its own in cooling; I should know at breakfast tomorrow!

One last note about this recipe.  I’m not sure if I just had extra juicy fruit, or used too much but my gallette leaked all over.  In fact there was so much juice I had a hard time telling if the custard had set.  Really I don’t mind, the juice made it luscious to eat, but it did make the bottom a little less crisp than would be ideal.  I wonder if the the leaking would have been worse without the crumbs and jam?

I will leave the experimentation for another day.

Find the recipe for the Gallette posted here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2008 1:50 pm

    Ours leaked as well! Your pics look like it turned out great!

  2. jessbcuz permalink*
    July 31, 2008 6:35 pm

    At least I’m not alone! It did taste good, but I was glad to have the parchment as it made cleanup a lot easier!

  3. August 1, 2008 8:19 am

    Looking at your picture is making me wish I had a juicy fruit galette right here in front of me, yum!

  4. August 3, 2008 9:45 pm

    It LOOKS yummy! Great job.

  5. August 6, 2008 6:46 pm

    Lovely! I like the ease of a free-form galette, too!

Leave a Reply

