Skip to content

TWD: Banana Chocolate Loaf

August 5, 2008

 

As a grade schooler I had a friend whose house I loved to visit.  Not only did she not have a little sister, she had a great victorian dollhouse (which as these things go, she never wanted to play with as much as I did, or perhaps I just never could say how much I wanted to play with it).  In addition to these perks when coming for a playdate, each time we walked into the house after school (so it seems to me now), there was a loaf of banana bread waiting for us to snack on.  My mom baked a lot (late at night after my sis and I were in bed), but her main vice was chocolate chip cookies, so this banana bread was a treat for me (we didn’t get many of those cookies anyway, but rather ususally just saw the evidence in the morning).  

When I read that this weeks Tuesdays with Dorie recipe was a banana bread I was leary.  I love a basic banana bread, and even have a favorite banana muffin recipe, but chocolate banana bread has never appealed to me particularly.  But one of the reasons I thought doing this baking group would be fun, was trying recipes I would normally skip over.  And so the baking began!

 

Why do my bananas look that way?  Frozen reserves.

Why do my bananas look that way? Frozen reserves.

Fresh Nutmeg!  One of my small delights!

Fresh Nutmeg! One of my small delights!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After pulling my frozen bananas from the freezer to defrost (This, by the way, is one of my great discoveries as an adult! That I could actually freeze my ripe (or overripe) bananas in the skin and all and use later has greatly enhanced my happiness with ripening bananas on my counter.  I especially love using the frozen bananas in fruit smoothies as it eliminates the need for ice.) I got busy on this recipe.  A little nutmeg grating, chocolate melting, and soon it was ready for the pan.  This “loaf” is actaully a marble banana cake and I did, as usual, find the marbalizing part a bit of a chore.  I am not convinced that a marble cake’s flavor makes up for the extra minutes spent mixing up the chocolate batter and carefully alternating batter and then swirling.  But I’m a simple girl and like to move as quickly and effienciently as I can in the kitchen most days.

However, I have to say, the cake is pretty good.  I am not converted (or convinced the marbling was worth it!) though, and while my kids and I are munching our way through this loaf, next time I’ll probably fall back on my original banana bread or my favorite fancy one from Cooking Light magazine years ago: Jamaican Banana Bread.

The recipe for the Black & White Banana Loaf is posted at A Year In The Kitchen.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2008 2:29 pm

    Goodness I’d want to play with the dollhouse too! Your marbleing looks terrific.

  2. Ana Blake permalink
    August 5, 2008 3:05 pm

    Jess,
    I liked your cape idea. I know the frustration of buying gifts for birthday parties. I do not feel like a) it is my responsibility to shower someone else’s child with expensive things nor b) that it is good for the child to get so many gifts (besides, I hate having to shuffle through all the clutter that comes with a birthday party from all the gifts so I assume other parents might feel the same.) I also liked reading about your banana bread experience. I have not tried freezing bananas for smoothies but would like to try it (if a banana will stay around here long enough to go bad that is!)
    –Ana

  3. August 5, 2008 3:34 pm

    Love your pics. Love love love them!

    Have a delicious day 🙂

  4. August 5, 2008 7:04 pm

    Yours looks great! I really like you first picture…………

  5. August 6, 2008 12:41 am

    Your bread looks amazing! A Victorian dollhouse – that is every little girl’s dream.

  6. August 6, 2008 1:17 am

    Love the marbling, and I agree – I love that TWD forces me to try recipes I wouldn’t otherwise do.

  7. August 6, 2008 3:36 am

    Love the marbleing…looks fabulous!

  8. August 6, 2008 5:18 am

    Your bread looks fantastic!

  9. August 6, 2008 12:21 pm

    I’m a big CL fan and I’ve seen many posts for that Jamican Banana Bread. I know I have the recipe in my files…I need to give it a try. Looks gorgeous, by the way.

  10. August 6, 2008 2:21 pm

    I hear you, I won’t be giving up my favorite banana bread recipe anytime soon. I think marbling should be left for big glorious Bundt cakes!

  11. August 7, 2008 8:21 pm

    Beautiful pictures! Your loaf looks gorgeous! and I’m totally jealous that you got to play with that awesome doll house.

  12. August 8, 2008 5:59 am

    Your loaf is so pretty! To me this really wasn’t a banana bread but rather a tea loaf or cake. The marbling was really fun for me, but it was my first time…

  13. jessbcuz permalink*
    August 9, 2008 7:29 am

    Thanks for all the comments and compliments! The loaf is now long gone, but has only made me hungry for some of the other banana breads I love!

  14. August 11, 2008 11:46 pm

    I agree, regular old banana bread will do just fine.

    Nice writeup! I like the nutmeg shot.

Leave a Reply

