Skip to content

B is for Baking

August 25, 2008

Yesterday I mentioned my apple butter extravaganza, but didn’t get a chance to write about the other favorite thing I make with my prepped apples: apple crisp.  When I was filling the pot to make the apple butter I had a couple cups of apples that wouldn’t fit comfortable, so I pulled out my crisp dish and quickly assembled one for dessert.

My favortie thing about crisps is that they don’t have a crust.  Granted, I’ve now tried Dorie‘s pie crust and was delighted by the ease with which it came together (and I also have a Trader Joe’s close by that carries a very nice premade crust), but I’ve had such a long standing aniomisty with pie crust I like when I can ignore it all together.  Plus there is no crust to get soggy at the bottom– only apple filling.

This particular crisp I make is originally from this thrift store cookbook find:Today’s Woman Pie Cook Book. Published in 1953 this is a great volume of pie recipes, with cute little illustrations and b & w photos of a beheaded model in a striped apron.  I’m glad these photos are in b & w because I have a couple colorized cookbooks from this time period and the food looks absolutely hideous (you can get an inkling of the colorization from the cover above). 

Anyway, I follow this recipe fairly closely but, as a child of the 70’s, I’ve had to add granola to it.  It takes it from kind of a strueselly overly sweet topping, to something with a little crunch.  Oh, and looking over the recipe I’ve just realized this was actually supposed to have a crust bottom— but I’ve omitted it completely. Apparently this was actually a crumb pie recipe, but no longer….  it’s for the best really.  

Apple Crisp

6 tart apples, peeled, cored and sliced (or just enough prepped apples to fill what ever dish you are cooking in)

2 tbsp butter, melted

A few sprinkles of sugar to sweeten apples to your liking

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp salt 

1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

1/4 cup flour

1/4 cup butter 

1/4-1/2 cup chopped nuts 

1/2- 1 cup unclumpy granola (granola without raisins works better as the raisins tend to burn a bit)

Mix together apples, melted butter, sugar, and spice and salt.  Arrange in baking dish.  Combine brown sugar and flour.  Cut in the butter.  Add nuts and granola.  Sprinkle evenly over apples.  Bake at 350 for 25-50 minutes (depends on thickness of your apple slices), or until apples are tender. Serve warm or cold– preferable with a glass of milk or scoop of vanilla ice cream.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2008 1:17 pm

    Your little ones are absolutely beautiful. Do you have a boy and a girl, like me, or are there more? I love having mine help in the kitchen, but I prefer one at a time. That crips looks delicious. I’m so excited for cooler weather and apples. I know it won’t happen on Sept. 1st around here, but a girl can hope. I’ll definitely try your crisp when it happens.

  2. jessbcuz permalink*
    August 26, 2008 5:14 am

    Yes! I have a boy (5) and a girl (7). No more. I too prefer one in the kitchen at a time but it never seems to work out that way. My son wants to join me constantly so I never get to bake with my daughter alone. Often instead of less children I end up with more— a couple of their friends know I’m willing to go in the kitchen with them and don’t mind a mess so they like to bake when they come over! And yes! our apple are starting to come in… but will keep coming for the next couple months. I love this time of year!

Leave a Reply

