Skip to content

TWD: Everything but the Kitchen Sink?

September 3, 2008

First off, sorry for the late post on this TWD.  It is still Tuesday here, but probably not many other places.  I actually made these the other day and had my pics uploaded and ready to go earlier today, but it was my son’s first soccer game of the season and that threw our normal schedule (and thereby my normal posting time) out of whack.  But here it is– in all its glory!

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but I first came to know Dorie Greenspans writing through her kitchen tool pieces in Bon Appetit.  In fact, when I was a subscriber, I would first check the table of contents to see if this was a Dorie month or not (I’m thinking she wrote those pieces every other month).  If it was, I’d turn right to it and start dreaming of another kitchen gadget I didn’t have room for and probably couldn’t afford.  If it wasn’t, I’d usually put down the magazine for later or search for a chocolate dessert to dream about.  As you can see, even in my advanced chocolholic stage, kitchen gadgets rate higher.

My favorite pieces were the ones about gadgets I could actually afford and that were useful.  Like a citrus squeezer, can opener etc.  Things that can keep me circling the kitchen stores trying them, considering them, pricing them, while my family goes mad with boredom.   What then could be better then a Dorie Greenspan recipe that allows me to use one of my favorite kitchen gadgets (well, really more of a doohicky)?

And what was that gadget?  One of my favorite Pampered Chef purchases (yes, I attended many and even hosted one of these and came away with some useful things, and other not so useful).  While I became dissallusioned with my adjustable measuring spoon from them when the sliding part popped off and was gone forever, this plastic measuring cup shown in the picture has stayed near and dear to my heart.  Why do I love it so?  It allows me to measure and dump all those sticky icky ingredients that I could never get out of my little metal measuring cups.  Honey, molasses, and yes, peanut butter.  So this being a recipe that included peanut butter (amoungst MANY other things) I was glad I had it.

Enough of my ode to my kitchenery…. onto the cookies!   As you can see from my pictures I opted to form all mine before starting the baking.  This was with chilled dough and went quickly.  I baked them all in one go and can therefore tell you that this recipe made almost exactly 60 cookies as promised.  Why was I counting them?  My husband told his students (he’s a middle school teacher) that I had been baking a lot and promised them something sweet one day, so we decided this was it.  He delivered 32 cookies to his middle schoolers and they enjoyed them. (We’re still munching the other 32 but I might bring some to my grad class tomorrow night– it’s good to share the wealth)   His students are now placing requests: chocolate cake and brownies top the list.

 

Just a couple notes about these cookies.  First off I would have liked to know to chill the dough earlier, perhaps in the intro paragraph.  By the time I got down to where it says it, my oven was already preheated and I had my pans lined with parchment paper.  Of course, if I was prepared, I would of read through the recipe before hand…entirely, but that’s just not going to happen in my house.  Secondly, these cooled a little more crunchy than I was hoping.   I know it isn’t because of the peanut butter as I had my husband make a special trip to get the “non-natural” kind recommened in the recipe even though I had 3 jars of natural in my cupboard.  But I grew up with natural peanut butter cookies, and let me tell you they are not the same.  A bit more stick to the roof of your mouth quality.  I cooked them for the recommended time, but perhaps my oven runs a little hot.  Anyway, in the future I would bake slightly less.

Recipe should be posted at this weeks recipe host, proceed with caution.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2008 6:49 pm

    Oh, I looooooove those measuring thingies. I always use mine for peanut butter, shortening, and honey. And I had no idea Dorie wrote pieces on kitchen gadgets. That totally explains all the pans and equipment. 😉

  2. September 3, 2008 11:38 pm

    Wow! Yours turned out perfect!

  3. September 4, 2008 4:29 am

    they look great! always take your cookies out of the oven before they look done, as they always continue to cook after you take them out

    i love that “measuring cup,” ever since i saw it on alton brown’s good eats 🙂

  4. September 5, 2008 1:16 am

    I have had that measuring cup for a number of years but have only recently started using it. I don’t know why I waited so long! :o) Sounds like the school kids are fans for sure!

  5. September 6, 2008 3:08 pm

    oh yum. peanut butter has to be one of my all-time favorite ingredients

  6. September 8, 2008 7:25 pm

    Glad you had some eager eaters for these! I have a different brand of the “sliding cup” and love it! Some gadgets are a disappointment (kind of like some presents) but this one is great!

Leave a Reply

