Skip to content

TWD: Malt madness to help me regain my sanity

September 9, 2008

Although I haven’t been posting this past week I decided to come out of hiding for Tuesdays with Dorie.  I’m still trying to find that balance between my new semester as a teacher and student, and the rest of my life.  Unfortunately that means I’ve found less time for sewing, baking, creating, and posting… but I’m hoping in the next week to find that rhythm which can take me all the way through December.  To start off this search for sanity in my schedule I made time to bake the TWD recipe this week, and committed myself to posting today.  

I think the most disappointing thing about baking these cookies was that I had made them before and not been terribly excited about them.  I was willing to give them another try, although I have to admit I didn’t use my good bittersweet chocolate in them, and instead substituted regular chips.  Second time around I have clearly marked up this recipe as one to not be revisted again.  I have found that although I love malt balls (LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE) and I love chocolate malts (LOVE LOVE LOVE —WITH EXTRA MALT) I do not like malt flavored cookies, nor do I like malt balls in my cookies.  

While I’m all about the chock-a-block kitchen sink cookie idea, I think there are somethings that are better left in their solo role.  For me a malt ball is about the soft chocolate, then the crunch of the malt inside with that little tang it can give your tongue if you eat too many.  Once baked in the cookies that is lost in the soft, slightly chocolate, slightly malt flavored cookie dough.

On the bright side they mixed up easy and baked as hoped.  I pulled these out a little before the time stated to avoid the crunchy cookie problem of last week and they are soft and pretty looking.  I also appreciated this recipe for giving me a reason to use parchment paper.  Often cookie recipes in current cookbooks will ask you to use parchment paper or silicone mats, but I sometimes wonder if they would even stick to an ungreased cookie sheet to begin with.  My mom always baked her chocolate chip cookies on an ungreased sheet, but my more current recipe asks for the parchment paper.  I think we are perhaps to attached to our gear and accessories in the kitchen (as much as I love gadgets), but this recipe showed me why this is a smart direction for these cookies.  One of my cookies was at the end of the parchment and cooked half on and half off it (yes, I pulled off a too short of piece but used it anyway).  Well, the part that cooked on the ungreased cookie sheet stuck fast.  Part of a malt ball had oozed a bit and it cemented that cookie right to the sheet.

I did get it off, but it took me enough arm power and time to make my appreciation for parchment paper grow tenfold.  So while I think the malt balls should stay in the movie theater, parchment paper is here to stay in my kitchen.

Check out people who posted on this recipe at Tuesdays with Dorie and find the recipe at confessions of a tangerine tart.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2008 5:08 pm

    Hahaha I had the same problem with getting the cookies up! Good luck with school/student life!

  2. September 9, 2008 5:55 pm

    My cookies stuck a bit too, but letting them sit definitely helped. I think I love whoppers any way I can get them, so I loved these cookies.

  3. Kelly D permalink
    September 9, 2008 7:21 pm

    I LOVE malts and malted milk balls too. I thought the dough was the best. didn’t lose any of the malt flavor.

  4. September 9, 2008 9:07 pm

    Glad you liked them!

  5. September 9, 2008 10:37 pm

    Good luck with school life. Sorry they weren’t a favorite but I give you kudos for making them again! Good job!

  6. September 10, 2008 1:41 pm

    Sorry you didn’t love them and good luck with the new semester and all of your many responsibilities. I have to develop stamina again every year when the school year starts.

  7. September 10, 2008 6:01 pm

    I’m all about the parchment paper! Good luck with pulling everything together that you’ve got going on!

  8. September 11, 2008 4:41 am

    Thanks for the cookie efforts! I actually loved these cookies. Made ice cream sandwiches out of them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

