Skip to content

Working Breakfast

September 11, 2008

The way my schedule worked out this Fall I am able to work from home 3 days a week as needed.  There are many drawbacks to this situation, as lovely as it may sound.  I am distracted by dirty dishes, phone calls, piles of laundry, my work taking over the kitchen table, random sales people knocking at my door, and the sight of my sad looking garden.  However, there is something that can make up for all of that: eating.

 I am able to eat when I’m hungry, and make something for myself.  So after spending a very hungry day on campus Monday, I made sure to eat, and to eat well, on Tuesday while I read homework and corrected papers from home.  After dropping my kids at school, I took the time to use up some CSA goodies (zucchini and peppers) and some bounty from my own garden (tomatoes and a pepper).  I shredded the zucchini into the eggs, threw in some chopped bell peppers and scrambled.  Served with a light sprinkling of kosher salt, fresh ground pepper,  a side of chopped tomatoes, and a piece of toast with my very own black berry jam it was perfect. So while I don’t get to participate in those “working lunches” of my past office days, I was quite happy with my working breakfast. Quite happy indeed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 12, 2008 3:42 pm

    sounds incredible. i love veggies with my eggs.

Leave a Reply

