Skip to content

TWD: Chocolate Chunkers

September 16, 2008

Decadence.  That is really the only way to describe these cookies.  Utterly (and almost but not quite, overly) decadent.  Sweet and chocolatey.  Yes, a chocolate content and flavor that satisfied even me.  I really enjoyed making these for TWD because I’m not sure I would of gotten around to them any time soon.  Their picture didn’t get my mouth watering, but a closer look at the recipe certainly would have hinted at the supreme chocolate overload these cookies are.  I would disagree with just one thing that Dorie mentions in her recipe.  She states that you can’t stop snacking on these, but I find they are so rich just one holds me over for quite a bit.

Just a few notes on my preparation of these.  I used Schaffenberger bittersweet (so glad I did) and this wonderful chocolate is awesome for these cookies and well worth the extra money.  I did not have peanuts or pecans so regular walnuts went in and I opted for plump raisins over the other dried fruit suggested.  I also chose milk chocolate over white (mainly because that is what was in my cupboard –Ghirradelli, I think– but also because I’ve been disaapointed by cookies I’ve made with white chocolate in the past–although I love it in Ben & Jerry’s New York Superfudge Chunk, so who knows why).  I found the one tray at a time a little tiring late at night, but as they bake up in 10-12 minutes and it only took me 3 trays to finish the batter, I wasn’t too put out.

Check out more posts on this recipe by exploring other Doristas here, and you should be able to find the recipe posted by Claudia at foolforfood here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2008 6:26 pm

    I agree – one was definitely enough. That woman must be an insatiable chocolate fiend!

  2. teaandscones permalink
    September 16, 2008 7:49 pm

    Look at the lovely big pecans. They look fabulous. I used cranberries and it seemed to make them sweeter. Great Job!

  3. September 16, 2008 9:59 pm

    Decadence is a good description for this recipe. “Chocolate decadence” to be precise 😉

  4. September 17, 2008 4:25 pm

    Good job! I agree that “decadent” is the only word to describe these cookies. Also found that one was enough.

  5. September 17, 2008 5:51 pm

    I must have skipped the part in the directions where she says to bake ’em one tray at a time. I did 2 at a time and they were fine. They look quite tempting.

  6. September 19, 2008 7:13 pm

    Decadent is right! We loved them too.

Leave a Reply

