Skip to content

Soup weather is here…

September 18, 2008

This past summer I discovered a wonderful, inspiring, and drool-worthy blog: Prudence Pennywise.  Prudy (as she goes by) whips up some delicious and frugal, something not to be discounted in our current economy, dishes most every day.  In August I looked longingly at her recipe for corn chowder and wheat rolls.  I have a weak spot for soups, but summer and soup don’t work for me.  I save my soups for cooler weather.  But now that weather is here.

This cool, cloudy weather that has been visiting in our normally very warm fall time got me thinking about that soup again, and when our CSA box held corn-on-the- cob last week I knew that I would be tasting that soup before long.  However, me being me, and this week being just plain busy, I didn’t get to it until now–almost a week later.  So although my veggies were a sorry sight compared to when I picked them up, they were still edible and I forged ahead.

 

CSA Veggies

CSA Veggies

I wanted to use up some different veggies I had on hand so I didn’t make her recipe to the letter, but it was on the counter and refered to for inspriation in various ways throughout the cooking.  First off I wanted to add potatoes, both because they were growing eyes in my bin and because I love potatoes in chowder– little cubes of crumbly chalky goodness.  I also discovered, as is my norm and has been noted before, that I did not have all the ingredients she used.  For some reason I tend to start cooking when I think I have all the ingredients but before I actually check.  This results in lots of improvisation or meals put on hold half way through for quick trips to the store or to my very very generous neighbor.  Today it was improvisation (partially because my neighbor wasn’t home!).  I did not have on hand any broth— so water it was (however I did add some cooked and crumbled bacon I found in the fridge leftover from quiche my husband made last weekend and this helped the water quite a bit!)

 

Over all I am very happy with the soup and my daughter loves it (!!!!!).  The best part is (and this is indeed why I do love soup) we have dinner tomorrow as well.

Corn (and potato) Chowder aka What’s in my Veggie Bin Chowder  adapted from Prudy’s recipe

butter or oil–2 TBSP perhaps

1 medium large red/purple onion, finely chopped

2-4 cloves of garlic, minced

4-5 ears of corn (ammend this and any other ingredients to what you have on hand), kernels removed, but cobs reserved

3-4 potatoes, peeled and eyes cut off as necc. and cubed to your liking

1-2 carrots, thinly sliced and then halved

1/2 red bell pepper finely chopped

1 7oz can of diced chiles

2 japanese peppers (?? I don’t really know what these are called, they were just in my CSA box) chopped

chopped bacon (maybe 1-2 pieces– mine was leftovers)

8 cups of water

salt, pepper, shake of dried basil

2 smallish zucchini and 1 small yellow squash sliced and halved

chopped cilantro

1/2 cup half-n-half

Warm oil and/or butter in soup pot.  Add chopped onion and saute for a couple minutes.  Add garlic and saute for another minute.  Add corn, potatoes, all peppers, carrots, bacon (and whatever else you want to throw in) and saute for about 5 minutes.  Add corn cobs and saute for another couple minutes.  Add water and spices.  Bring to a boil then simmer for 15-20 minutes or until potatoes and carrots are soft but not falling apart.  Add zucchini and cilantro and maybe a couple more tsps of bacon crumbs.  Cook for another 5-10 minutes or until zucchini is tender.  Remove cobs.  Stir in cream.  I used an immersion blender to thicken slightly, but not necc.  Can be served immediately.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2008 11:28 pm

    I am all about soups and chillis in the fall. The weather keeps going cool then warm here still. That soup looks so good and Prudence Pennywise makes amazing things at a fraction of the cost! I need to shop with her.

  2. jessbcuz permalink*
    September 27, 2008 3:01 am

    I wish I could shop with her too!! Our weather has turned warm again (actually quite hot), but I’ve still been perusing my cookbooks for old soup favorites and new ones to try.

Leave a Reply

