Skip to content

TWD: Creme Brulee & Oven Fixed!

October 1, 2008

note the small out of focus picture so that you can't see how i scorched it!

Yes.  This is another late night TWD posting.  At least this time I have a reasonable excuse.  My oven has been broken.  I was in fact thinking that I would be trying to do this in my toaster oven, but was saved from this extraordinary feat by my oven being repaired last night.  However, that eleventh hour rescue left me with very little time to attend to this creme brulee recipe.  And that is too bad because I’ve been wanting to make creme brulee for MONTHS! Really.

Sometime last spring I happened into William Sonoma during a sale (maybe after Christmas which would mean this intent to make creme brulee is embarrassingly ancient!), and found on their 75% off table a creme brulee “kit”– torch included! As I’ve mentioned before, I am somewhat overly fond for gadgets, and with a gift card burning a hole in my pocket I decided to spring for this really not necessary at all item.  So when I saw creme brulee slated for this week I was excited to break out this gadget…no… this kitchen TOOL!

And it does rank up there with my power drill.  Something about wielding flame in the kitchen is very satisfying for me.  But as you might be able to tell by the amount of time I’ve spent on the torch, I’m not terribly pleased with my brulees.  It could be that I had exactly 11 and a half minutes to whip up the brulee.  It could be that I might have over cooked half of them, or not had the right consistency (this is my one complaint about this recipe– what should the custard look like before baking, soupy?  ribbon-like consistency like I saw in another recipe?  This detail would have helped me immeasurably.) before pouring it into the ramekins (could the time pressure have gotten to me?).  What ever the reason, half of them didn’t even make it to torching.  The three that did are clearly amateur jobs… tasting a bit more burnt then browned.    However, as this torch has taken up permanent residence in my kitchen I will get more chances to perfect my creme brulees.

See more TWD postings by checking out their website and find the recipe at Mevrouw Cupcake.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2008 9:35 am

    I think just about everyone had problems getting this custard to set up, including me. The low heat and lack of water bath, makes for a more pudding like consistency and the scaled-back amount of egg yolks and cream makes for a less flan/panna cotta like structure. That said, it tastes good and that’s the most important part! Your mini ramekins, are cute, btw!

  2. October 1, 2008 12:27 pm

    I’m glad you got a chance to use your great find from WS. Sorry it didn’t turn out exactly as you wanted, but since you’ve got a cute torch and ramekin, it’ll be fun to try again.

  3. October 1, 2008 4:36 pm

    You’ve broken in the kit! Awesome. Your brulées will only get better.

  4. October 1, 2008 7:53 pm

    Lucky you, to find such a cheap brulee set! I’m jealous.

  5. pinkstripes permalink
    October 2, 2008 6:56 pm

    I need to stop buying kitchen tools on sale…I still have some stuff I’ve never used. I’m glad you were able to finally use your kit.

  6. October 6, 2008 2:14 am

    Wish I could find a creme brulee set on sale! And congratulations on having a working oven.

Leave a Reply

