Skip to content

TWD: Chocolate Gooey Goodness

October 8, 2008

Scrumptious.  I tasted this yummy cake, chosen this week for TWD, this afternoon (actually almost evening while I was making dinner)– and washed it down with a LARGE glass of milk.  Milk is almost a must for this cake, if only to unstick your teeth (not that that’s a bad thing, if it means you’ve been eating this cake).  

I really enjoyed making this recipe today.  For one, because even though my oven has been fixed for a week, I haven’t made it into the kitchen much.  But I also enjoyed it because it was a chance to make caramel from scratch, which I always like because I’m reminded how easy it is– then of course, I must ask myself why I don’t do it more often, seeing as how I absolutely adore (adore! adore! adore!) caramel.

Well, I’m a happy camper here with this cake.  It tastes quite a bit like chocolate cake with melted smushed up Payday candy bars on the top, and that, my friends, is perfectly wonderful!  

Check out other postings on this recipe by looking up other TWD posters, and find the recipe at Wee Treats by Tammy.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2008 3:46 am

    I’d call that a ringing endorsement! Great job, and I’m glad you were such a fan.

  2. October 8, 2008 6:35 am

    this cake just looks over-the-top good. I wish i had more people in my house so I could make treats like this more often. it would be dangerous to leave me alone with such a creation. beautiful!

    and in regard to the Swiss chard, I think it does grow all winter here. When I was up in San Fran several weekends ago, someone told me to plant kale and snap peas for the winter as well. And so I did. They are coming along nicely!

  3. October 8, 2008 2:51 pm

    Oh hooray! You made it! It looks fabulous. I loved your chili story on your comment. It reminded me of the time my sister made a pot of chili for a church party with a habanero chili pepper. Ooh wee! Talk about hot. There’s nothing you can do, except laugh!

  4. October 8, 2008 3:06 pm

    Thanks for the tips Jess, I definitely think my cakes were overdone. Yours looks great!

    Btw, the plate is from the Table Story series, by the Dutch designer Tord Boontje.

  5. pinkstripes permalink
    October 8, 2008 9:56 pm

    Yum! Your caramel looks perfect and your cake baked perfectly. 🙂

  6. October 8, 2008 11:34 pm

    Glad you liked it! I love caramel too.

Leave a Reply

