Skip to content

Fall is here (on my mantle)

October 10, 2008

This past weekend I decided it was time to clear off the misc. clutter that had accumulated on my mantle and reclaim it for my own visual peace of mind.  Off came the keys, change, and a huge sheath of pictures that I’d moved from somewhere else, waiting to be framed (or something).  I didn’t go wild, but I did take just a minute to put some mini dried corns, and mini pumpkins up (along with my kid’s pottery).  Then my son got home.

He does not like to be left out of ANYTHING, especially not decorating.  While I wasn’t ready to bring in our few Halloween decorations from the garage, I helped him make some homemade decorations for the mantle.  I drew, he cut and colored.  Black cats, green witches, and 3 little pumpkins (we couldn’t quite make it to five).  He especially had fun with those pumpkins- gluing their stems and leaves on and then drawing his very own jack-o-lantern faces with lots and lots of sharp scary teeth.  

But we didn’t stop there.  We made ghosts.  Kleenex ghosts, and I have to say it was a favorite and he went on to manufacture quite a swarm of them.  He really enjoyed this because he was able to do it entirely by himself once I showed him how.  Scrunch one kleenex really (really) tight into a ball.  Place it into the center of another kleenex, pinch that kleenex around the ball, and TWIST!  Then decorate with abandon.

We are now overrun by this gang of ghosts, and more are threatening to move in (my daughter came home to find these new boarders, and is waiting to create her own this weekend).

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 14, 2008 12:51 pm

    I love it! I forgot to make kleenex ghost this year-thanks for the reminder. My kids will love you for that one.

Leave a Reply

