Skip to content

Just a sunny autumn day…

October 15, 2008

No TWD post today–I’m behind on EVERYTHING this week! Our DSL has been on the fritz lately (we’re having someone out to look at our line tomorrow), and I’ve barely been able to reliably check email from home, let alone post.  But it seems to be working (for probably the next five minutes!) and so I decided to just post a little peek at what I saw this sunny autumn day from my front porch.  

Today was a work at home day, and as it often happens, after a couple solid hours of reading abstract philosophy, theory, or literature from a time forgotten by most sane people, my mind begins to wander, and my eyes soon follow.  My brain seems to fill up after a bit and I need a little relief.  Taking a little break today from reading, I grabbed my camera and wandered around my front yard.  

I loved seeing the pared down beauty of some of the flowers past their prime, but was also presently surprised by the happy face my cheerful geraniums are still putting on for my house.  

I was also tickled to find a couple little “french” strawberries (what my children and I call them as I’m hopeless at pronouncing anything even resembling french, which I believe their official name, fras de bois, is) hiding in my strawberry plants.  

I plucked one off for a petite treat and, since I could forestall it no longer, dived back into my reading, which at least, can be done on my front porch in the lovely warm autumn sunshine.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2008 2:38 pm

    What a beautiful post. I’d love to hear about what you are reading and studying!

  2. jessbcuz permalink*
    October 19, 2008 8:45 pm

    Thanks for the comment. Currently, I am taking a class in based in English Romantic lit, but focusing on becoming “good readers” of Foucault’s, The History of Sexuality. Given that focus we’ve been reading a lot of other theory as well as primary lit. texts including Marcuse (Eros & Civilization), Freud (Civilization & its Discontents), Byron, Shelley, Bronte, Marx, and we will be reading The Incredible Lightness of Being and Hardy’s Jude the Obscure. My other class is a basic grad class on research and theory with a focus on Early English texts (from Song of Roland through Oroonoko) in order to practice our theoretical stances and research tactics. Perhaps I will slip a little more of this into my posts in the future!

Leave a Reply

