Skip to content

Soup Fever or Fever Soup

October 19, 2008

After surviving my whole first year in graduate school with no more than one slight cold, this year looks to be more realistic.  I felt a sore throat coming on Friday evening, and by yesterday morning was in bed with a fever.  At least– and I can’t say how thankful I am for this– it hit me on the weekend.  (Of course it was the weekend in which I am supposed to be grading 64 papers!)  My husband was home to shoulder the soccer responsibilities alone, and I could doze in and out, while trying to grade some essays and re-read Wuthering Heights for my own class.  In the afternoon, after he had returned from the kid’s end of season soccer parties, I asked my husband to make the Carrot-Ginger soup I had been planning on making this weekend (soup making quickly becoming a weekend ritual for me this Fall), and, thankfully, he agreed.

Not only is this one of my favorite soups, but I had just been reading how ginger was especially good in combatting illness– something I knew from my childhood memories of my mother’s homemade lemon- ginger tea remedies, but which was timely given my plan to make this soup and my successive illness.  I ate two bowls of this soup, piping hot, and shortly thereafter began breaking my fever.  Perhaps coincindintal, but the slight heat of the ginger in this soup was absolutely a perfect remedy yesterday.

I first discovered this soup when lunching with a friend (years ago, before kids, when lunching with friends was a bit more common).  I had never had a carrot soup and was pleasantly surprised that it didn’t just taste like carrot juice (something I’m not overly fond of).  After that lunch I began looking around for a comparable recipe, and finally stumbled upon this one (somewhat changed since then) in an advertisement for a local grocery store.  It is originally from a local restaurant I believe, but whatever its origins, it has become a fall and winter tradition for my husband and I (the kids are not so enthusiastic as the ginger can provide a little heat to the soup), and we make it a few times throughout the cold weather.  After yesterday’s success, I’ll also be adding it to our cold and flu remedies along with chicken soup, and lemon-honey tea.

Carrot-Ginger Bisque with Orange

I often double this recipe.

 

  • 2lbs unpeeled carrots, chopped
  • 1/2 lb yellow onions, chopped
  • 4 oz fresh gginger, peeled and chopped (I usually increase)
  • 1/4 lb butter
  • 1/2 small can frozen concentrated orange juice, undiluted
  • 1 whole orange, skin on, chopped
  • 6 cups vegetable stock (you can use chicken broth too, but cut with 1/2 water if you do)
  • salt and cayenne pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup cream (optional)

In a large pot, saute onions and ginger in butter.  Add to stock.  Add chopped carrots, o.j. concentrate and chopped orange.  Simmer until tender.  Blend in small batches in food processor (or blender) until smooth.(I use my immersion blender, the love of my life in the kitchen!)  Use a slotted spoon to scoop in solids with a little liquid.  Blend, then pour back into pot.  Repeat.

Add cream if desired (I usually do!).  Season to taste with salt and cayenne (I rarely do!).  Reheat gently, if necessary.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2008 12:09 am

    As good as the ginger is in this recipe health-wise, I think the cayenne was even more important. not only does the extra heat combat any fever you might have, it also combines well with the ginger and makes it more effective. I am not sure how, but I have read this, and have tried it. I can vouch personally that it has worked for me.

  2. October 20, 2008 1:12 pm

    I love carrot ginger soup, especially with orange. I’d love to try your version. I hope you are feeling better, but I’m sure with a bowl of this and a good helping of Bronte, you’ll be up and going in no time!

Leave a Reply

