Skip to content

TWD: Pumpkin Muffins

October 21, 2008

You know when everything just works out?  It all started last week when I began to have a seasonal craving for a pumpkin muffin.  Then I hop onto TWD and see that the recipe for this week is a PUMPKIN MUFFIN!  But, with being sick and buried under grading I wasn’t sure I would be able to get to them this week, so I just supressed that craving, hoping I might make them this coming weekend instead.  But then this morning, I awoke– hungry!  (I know, amazing!)  And feeling like I needed just a little me time before diving into my midterm grading, decided I would in fact, make the time to bake these this morning.  So I opened up the cookbook to find the recipe– only to find I had already tagged it long ago with a note that said– “Try These!”.  And so I did.

I love muffins for breakfast, but I am not a fan of overly sweet things in the morning, so I am always on the lookout for low sugar/no sugar muffin recipes.  This one does pretty well on the sugar front (although I think it could do better), and even with some tweaking, they still baked up with a wonderful light “crumb”.  

My tweaks?  I substituted whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose; measured the white sugar  generously scant and instead added in a bit of maple syrup; used plain yogurt for the buttermilk; added orange zest (which is very subtle but a very nice added flavor to the finished product); and in addition to the sunflower seeds, added pecans and cranberries, omitting the golden raisins (I’m not a fan).  Usually the first time with a recipe I like to bake it pure, but even for all my tinkering, this recipe came out fine.  The dough was very sticky when I put it in the tins, and I was worried, remembering some very, very CHEWY (although very, very healthy) muffins I had made a while back.  But while they cooked a lot faster then the recipe indicated, they turned out just fine.

But now it is time to return to those midterms.  But I think I’ll have another muffin while I grade.  I hope my students won’t mind crumbs all over work.

Check out the recipe here at Barbaric Gulp and other posts through TWD.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2008 10:18 am

    Love your changes – especially the maple syrup!

  2. October 22, 2008 11:21 am

    They look lovely! I really enjoyed these muffins too, they were gone before you knew it 🙂

  3. October 22, 2008 3:52 pm

    I think your muffins look great and the maple syrup sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

