Skip to content

Pumpkin Cheesecake with Gingersnap Crust

November 11, 2008

Just a quick post to share one of my favorite Thanksgiving recipes.  I have not had the time for TWD the last few weeks, but am holding out hope that I will get back to it soon.  In the meantime, I thought I’d share something I made over the weekend.

We had an early Thanksgiving with my parents (all of them!) and my sister’s family and my brother this past Sunday.  I have entered the strange and fantastic world of seminar paper writing so I haven’t been posting or taking any photos recently (I should be crawling out of this frantic state in about 3 weeks), but as this recipe is found on line, and has its own superb photo, I thought I would post the link.

It is William-Sonoma’s Pumpkin Cheesecake. (Get the recipe and see the picture at that link)  I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin pie– I have my slice with whip cream– but one skinny slice normally does me.  And the first few times I had pumpkin cheesecake, I thought, “What’s the point?”.  Cheesecake is sooooo good au natural, why add pumpkin to it?  It just wasn’t happening for me.  But then I tasted this delicious version at a tea my Auntie gave, and I was won over.  It is the gingersnap crust that got me, but I also love how easy it is.

For one thing, as I have a long standing animosity with pie crust, pumpkin pie from scratch is not high on my list of favorite things to make– this recipe completely eliminates that.  Beyond that, this is a quick assembly.  Watch out for the cooking time though.  My aunt and I both found that the cheesecake is not set by the end of the cooking time they suggest.  We turn off the oven and leave it in there with the door closed for about an additional hour, and then refridgerate.

Leave a Reply

