Skip to content

notes from a grad school all nighter

November 30, 2008

I haven’t had any time to post recently because of paper deadlines that I’ve alluded to, but having finished one draft last night, or rather this morning, I thought I could share a few thoughts I ha (and a link or too, of course).

my favorite spell check suggestion:  for semiotician- semiotic Ian  (as my son’s name is Ian)

my stimulant of choice:  earl grey tea (cream only), in a proper tea cup (my one link to the rational world that everyone else is inhabiting)

my favorite mental breaks:  doing random searches in google, for what ever small points were bothering me during my writing; some related to my paper, and others not at all –like my google search for Nigel Slater (because I love his cookbook, Kitchen Diaries, and desperately want to live in it, or, at least, own it) after ending up on the Times Literary Supplement (via a search that was related to my paper), and realizing there is a whole world of British newspapers, and their food and gardening sections out there! (and recipes, such as this Curried Parsnip and Apple soup I might make with the parsnips from our CSA…then again this version with stilton croutons looks good too)

I also discovered a couple interesting articles, a site on Hegel I needed (and that helped my paper), as well as a couple online journals (borderlands looks like a promising one for future reading), and way more erudite blogs then I knew existed (did you know people blog about Marx, Benjamin, Hegel, Heiddeger, and Foucault and more?)

My other favorite mental break was putting both my children back to bed at random times during the night.

my favorite frustration:  Realizing that since my paper took a form I was not expecting (well it had to do something!) I have 13 (13!) sources I didn’t need to read as they didn’t end up on my works cited list.  Right now because I can’t let them go, I have a works cited, and then a “bibliography”– for no reason other than I just can’t quite bring myself to delete the only record of all that time I spent reading them!  But in small compensation, I just realized that since I reference, but don’t quote one source, Marcuse, and I probably need to create a citation for him…maybe.

my favorite sounds:  the surprisingly loud snores of my children, and the sound of the printer printing my “good” draft.

It is time to return to my studies for now.  The monstrosity of a draft I birthed last night is awaiting my final touches and adjustments, and my children need some momma time as I’ve been hiding at the library or attached to my laptop for the last 2 or 3 weeks. 


3 Comments leave one →
  1. sandy permalink
    December 1, 2008 1:45 am

    Welcome back to the real world Jess….this is what I have to look forward to next year. Great links!

  2. December 1, 2008 2:07 am

    Thanks Sandy! Not quite all the way back, but well on my way. Editing to do tonight on the paper, and some papers to grade, but only 3 weeks left in the term!

Trackbacks

  1. Trying to cook myself across the pond. « jessBcuz

Leave a Reply

