Skip to content

Elf meets Japanese Craft Book

December 24, 2008

img_3112

I have made a few things from Japanese Craft books in the past with success.  My one HUGE failure was a dress for myself, but children’s clothes seem to work well.  Good thing, because that’s what I tackled tonight.  One of my daughter’s wishlist items was this skirt she tabbed in my Girly Style Wardrobe book.  

the skirt she tabbed in the book

the skirt she tabbed in the book

 

 

I had picked up some fabric at the used fabric store near here a couple weeks ago (this store, run by to benefit a local senior center, is a recent discovery for me, and wishing I would have found it years ago), but wasn’t sure what I wanted to make with it, although I knew I wanted to use it for my daughter; it turned out to be a wonderful match for this simple skirt.img_3091

I also made another nightgown for my girl.  She is out-growing all the ones I made about a year ago, and so I pulled out my favorite nightgown pattern, Simplicity 4767, and cut it one size larger.  Usually I do the elastic in the middle part to create a peasant blouse type of top, but left it off this time.  I also made it a bit longer than usual to give her some more grow room in this one, and to accent this great flannel with a border I’ve had tucked away for a couple years.img_3098

All in all– a very successful sewing night.  I’d like to whip up a couple pairs of jammie pants for me, my son, and my daughter, as well as a matching blouse for the skirt, but time is running short, and I’m not sure I will get to it before Christmas morning.   I could start a new tradition and give jammies for New Year’s Eve.  Yes.  That just might do.

Of course that means I’ll be back at these machines next week too.img_3106

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2009 6:14 pm

    I love that you love making pj’s for your kiddo’s. The best I could do when mine were little were their Halloween costumes. Which was fun.
    AmyRuth

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      January 3, 2009 6:27 pm

      I like making halloween costumes too, but my daughter loves her p.j.’s more than dress-up!

Leave a Reply

