Skip to content

Cinnamon and Sugar Lips

December 29, 2008
tags:

img_3379A while back I read about and purchased a scrumptious little cookbook, Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey, which after puchasing sat patiently on my shelf for the past 6 months or so (could it be even longer?), as I found less and less time for baking as my studies overtook my entire life.   I fell in love with this cookbook for its whimsical style (title, colors, font, etc.  all super cutsey), and bought one as a gift for my baking auntie, even before trying any recipes out of it (it appears looks are indeed worth something). With a little time this week during the holiday, I hit this book running and tried three recipes: churros and thick hot chocolate, double crumb apple pie, and sticky pear gingerbread. While the cooking times seemed off on the apple pie (mine was done a bit earlier) and the gingerbread (mine wasn’t quite all the way done even past the time listed and was a little too gooey for my taste), all the flavors were dynamite and I am apt to assume the inadequate cooking times had more to do with my inaccurate timing, than the recipes (I’m not known for being overly conscious of timing anyway).  The apple pie was a super duper hit with the whole family Christmas day at my dad’s house, and although it ended up in the trash, the gingerbread (which I had tried to make for xmas morning) warrants a second go with revised cooking times.  

img_3316Envying all the  latke’s my friends indulged in last weekend, I couldn’t let the week go by without frying something.  This underlies the real reason my husband and I decided to serve up the churros and chocolate for xmas eve dessert to the family– at the end of the night, a very large platter of them all gone and everyone licking their cinnamon sugar coated lips!

img_3326This recipe was especially fun, as I first had something along this decadent line at 20 durning my only visit to Spain (and as international travel has not been a reality in recent years, I can best travel through my food).  

I recall following my nose to a long coffee shop counter with stools, and ordering up a long piping hot snake of fried dough, served with a coffee cup of slightly burnt tasting chocolate sludge.  This is breakfast? I thought, and then dug in.  Pushing the dough through my pastry bag, I was wishing I had the dough tap I remember being over the vat of hot oil in Spain, but we made do–although I managed to get churros dough on the floor, on the outside of the pastry bag, and on my forehead (discovered later, quite dried).  Really, it is quite amazing any made it in the oil.  If I return to this recipe I will probably change the semi-sweet chocolate called for in the hot chocolate to bittersweet, but other than that, it was perfect.

img_3314

This recipe clenched the deal for this cookbook and I– I sense there will be a long relationship between us.  There are many more recipes already tagged (grown-up smores anyone?) and I will probably be buying more copies for fellow sweet loving bakers soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. juju73 permalink
    December 30, 2008 5:41 am

    YUM! These look heavenly!

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      January 1, 2009 10:01 pm

      Thanks! They were! I think it might be a new Xmas eve tradition for us, although I’m not sure I can wait another whole year to have them again. I’d like to try donuts next.

Trackbacks

  1. Delirious Desserts! « jessBcuz

Leave a Reply

