Skip to content

CAT-alog tales: a new pet and unwanted mail

January 1, 2009

 

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year! We rang it in last night with a great big bowl of buttery popcorn, root beer floats, the radio countdown, and our newest family member, Basil.

Basil is a black and white 1 year old cat we adopted yesterday from a local animal shelter after over a year of pet discussions, and 3 days of looking for just the right one. Well, we think he’s it. So far, Basil is playful, gentle, a lover and very mellow. He seems tolerant of my son’s excessive loving, and at home with my daughter’s more thoughtful engagement. He’s already sat on my lap while I was typing earlier, and he may be blogging with me yet!

img_3471

 

In my usual flurry of activity that comes with any break (relaxing is something I do only in a warm bed in the morning with a good book, or in a hammock camping, again with a good book– otherwise I’m fairly hopeless), I’ve been running around trying to get to all my stockpiled projects and recipes, AND make some headway on the cluttered closets, and other unmentionable, hidden places in our home.  Today I cleaned out the fridge (seemed like a new year thing to do) and what a relief!  I won’t mention what I found in there, but it was furry and not very pretty.

 Another problem area for me is my stack of magazines, and catalogs that get mixed into that pile.  A little online ordering here and there, I’m suddenly on too many mailing lists.  I recently read about a non-profit website called Catalog Choice in Body & Soul Magazine article titled “Financial Balance” recently, and although the emphasis in the article is using this to help curb shopping, it also helps with clutter, and reduces paperwaste.  Basically, they work with companies to help eliminate unwanted catalogs.  Some companies don’t participate (but a surprising number do), but in that case, the site provides you with the phone numbers to call the company’s and request the catalog cessation yourself.  It did have at least 3 or 4 companies I receive endless catalogs from participating, and it automatically registers me with them to not receive more paper mail.  I also found a couple other links dealing with unwanted mail: perhaps slightly outdated general info on stopping all sorts of mail and this blog entry at mattcuts.com goes over a few different sites.  

There are a lot of things I won’t get to this break, or are out of my control– but at least I have addressed one issue, and maybe my magazine basket will look more orderly next new year!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    January 2, 2009 6:12 am

    Hi Jess, Happy New Year AND a belated Merry Christmas! I’m also engaged in the same activities as you at present. Can’t seem to get too ruthless with my magazine basket – never get round to reading the stockpiled ones. Hence my resolution to finally cancel my Ezibuy catalogue and think long and hard about any mag purchases….

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      January 3, 2009 6:40 pm

      Sandy! Thanks for the well wishes! Glad to hear I’m not the only one overrun by my piles! I’m going thought my magazines as well, and already have a very full bag ready for donation to our local library; they resell them to support their Friends of the Library program.

Leave a Reply

