Skip to content

Best-Ever, Most Favorite in the Whole World Oatmeal Cookies

January 12, 2009

sdc10078

Many years ago, before my kids were born, when I seemed to have endless baking hours, I began a hunt for my perfect oatmeal raisin cookie.  Now, these favorite, best-ever cookie things are highly personal affairs, and one persons “mmmm!” can be another person’s “yuck,” but I was on the hunt for a slightly chewy cookie.  The crunchy oatmeal cookies are good crumbled over vanilla ice cream, but for my afternoon cookie noshing with a glass of cold milk, I need that little chewyness.

And so I tried this recipe, and that one, and read about brown sugar ratios to lend the right amount of chew, and baking times, for not too much goo.  But I was no closer.  Then one day I peeled back the lid of the Quaker Oatmeal box and saw their recipe for Vanishing Oatmeal Cookies.  Now really, what do I need so many cookbooks for when there are perfect recipes out there right in my cupboard! (Speaking of cookbooks, take a look at this fun post by Mervouw Cupcake about hers.)

And they were almost perfect.  I upped the spices, added a little grated orange zest, nuts and chocolate (yes, almost every cookie I make has a little chocolate in it!) and I was a happy, happy girl.  “Mmmmm!” is all I could say.  The other day I felt the craving come over me and I whipped up a batch.  I make about a dozen for immediate eating (usually warm, right off after I transfer them to the cooling rack–just to make sure their good, you know?), and freeze the rest of the dough, pre-formed and ready to go.

I freeze them on a wax paper lined tray first for about 2 hours or when ever I remember they are there, and then transfer them to a container for longer storage.  You can just bake them whenever the craving hits, straight from the freezer to a pre-heated oven.

I freeze them on a wax paper lined tray first for about 2 hours or when ever I remember they are there, and then transfer them to a container for longer storage. You can just bake them whenever the craving hits, straight from the freezer to a pre-heated oven.

Maybe you have a favorite, best-ever cookie?  Did you find it on a package like me?  Share, share, share!

Jess’s Best-Ever, Most Favorite in the Whole World, Swiped from Quaker Oats Oatmeal-Raisin-Chocolate Chip-Pecan Cookies

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
zest of one orange
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 heaping tsp ground cinnamon
1/2-1 tsp ground cloves
1/2-1 tsp all spice
1/4 tsp salt
3 cups quick or old-fashioned, uncooked oats
1 cup raisins
1 cup pecans (or walnuts)
1 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 350.  Beat butter and sugars until creamy.  Add orange zest and combine.  Add eggs and vanilla; beat well.  In another bowl combine flour, baking soda, spices and salt.  Add to creamed mixture, and mix well.  Stir in oats, raisins, chocolate and nuts.  Mix just until combined.

Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 for 10 to 12 minutes or until light golden brown.  Don’t over cook—unless you like them crunchy!

Cool for 1 minute on the sheet, and then transfer to rack.  Cool completely.  Store in airtight container.  Makes about 4 dozen 2 1/2 inch cookies.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ana Blake permalink
    January 12, 2009 5:01 pm

    My favorite cinnamon oat bread recipe came from the back of a flour package.

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      January 15, 2009 5:47 pm

      will you share? cinnamon oat bread sounds perfect for a slice of cinnamon sugar toast with hot cocoa.

  2. juju73 permalink
    January 15, 2009 3:18 am

    These look SO good!

  3. January 16, 2009 2:20 am

    I love oatmeal cookies, but have yet to find a good recipe, you’re my savior Jess!

Leave a Reply

