Skip to content

TWD: Finally! Ginger Chocolate Cake

January 28, 2009

sdc10345

Well, here it is.  I’m finally back in the swing of it and posting a TWD recipe.  I fell off the baking sometime in the middle of last semester, and then, when I had time again, I was overwhelmed by all the other recipes in my other cookbooks I wanted to try.  But today I decided to dive in again and make this wonderfully spicy gingerbread cake.  Of course, I didn’t decide this until the last minute, so you get my evening, fuzzy, not enough light, picture.  I think it gives it a kind of aura though.  You can either interperret the fuzzyness as a type of halo representing the other worldliness of this cake, or it can give you a hint of how I feel and my kitchen looks after whipping this up while making dinner and choreographing two kids through homework,and  afternoon snacks.  Yep.  I’m feeling a little fuzzy also.

But I’m also a bit proud for just getting this posted on a Tuesday.  Barely, but still.  Here in California the night is young.

But about the cake.

Gingery.  Very, very gingery.  I was happy to use some fresh ginger hiding in my fridge, (as well as some buttermilk that was at the use it or lose it stage for this cake), but I also used a little chopped candied (uncrystallized) ginger in the batter, and then cyrstallized ginger chopped and sprinkled on top (I just happened to have these in my cupboard for some forgotten reason).  So, it could be that the very gingery thing is partly of my own making.  Either way, I like it.  It does need something though.  A large glass of milk, scoop of ice cream, or a bit of whipped cream on the side.  I mean if you’re having dessert, you might as well…Have DESSERT!

The only other change I made was to bake it in a bundt.  This was purely aesthetic.  I perfer to eat a slice of bundt over a square of cake.  I think it has something to do with my grandmother and how she always makes her cakes as bundts, but either way, it cooked up fine in a smallish bundt pan I have.  I just have to add that it was kind of nice to make an entire recipe with no issues or mistakes.  Even better to have made this and be able to look forward to munching on it for the next few days.  I mean, there’s nothing like making your cake, and eating it too.

Find the recipe at Sherry Trifle.

UPDATE: 1 day later.  Just wanted to add that I had a slice this evening with some warmed up caramel sauce (left over from my banana cream tartlets) and it was superb!  The caramel sauce was perfect with this cake.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. bakergirlcreations permalink
    January 28, 2009 10:46 pm

    Looks great! My mom makes tons of cakes in bundt pans too…a clean slice always 🙂

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      January 29, 2009 7:40 am

      Yes! Bundts are easier to cut too, and stay looking decent even after being cut.

  2. January 30, 2009 8:29 am

    I think having a slice with caramel sauce is totally inspired. Wish I still had some left so I could try it. 🙂 Your “other wordly” little bundt looks terrific.

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      February 2, 2009 10:50 am

      Thanks! I wish I had some way to share it with you!

Leave a Reply

