Skip to content

Dreaming of Village Frock Frolicking

January 30, 2009

fabricYesterday, I stopped into my local fabric resale shop and picked up some grey fabric for a couple bucks and now all I can think about is making this dress (Village Frock by Sugar City Shop).  Really, really badly.  I’ve been thinking about it for months.  I dash on over to Sugar City Journal every once in a while, drop into their shop and just stare. (And see what other cool things these ladies have been creating).  Yep.  I really want to make this dress.

But not for my daughter.  She would never wear it.  In fact, I’m thinkin she would pretty much detest it.  That’s my girl.  Jeans.  It’s all about jeans and cotton tees.  Oh.  And sweatshirts.

Who can blame her?  I myself have a stockpile of childhood memories that are filled with itchy linings on dresses, tights sagging down to my knees, and goodness knows what other atrocities, all in the name of fashion…or something.

Lucky for her, I think the pattern sold by Sugar City Shop only goes up to a size 6 anyway, and my mini-giant by-passed that size before kindergarten.  Unlucky for me, I want this dress for me and there is no way, no how I’m fitting into a child’s 6.  So I’m going to have to get inventive.  

And be ready for  some trial and error.  And pay attention to what I’m doing.  Which means no midnight sewing.

Wish me luck.  Lots of it.  

No midnight sewing?  Did I really just say that?  Now that’s going too far.  Look what this dress has done to me!  I’m getting carried away already.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Caroline Kelly permalink
    August 11, 2010 5:56 pm

    Hi there! You’re going to think I’m crazy but I have been desperately trying to hunt down a copy of the “Village Frock” pattern. I stumbled across your blog while googling it and was wondering if by chance you still had yours and if you would consider selling it to me? I understand if you want to hang onto it but it never hurts to ask right? 😉

    Thanks so much and GREAT website!

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      August 11, 2010 10:06 pm

      Unfortunately, I never bought their pattern. Often I just use ideas out there for inspiration. Have you tried emailing them directly? Good luck on your hunt.

Leave a Reply

