Skip to content

TWD: I think I baked them too long!

February 3, 2009

sdc10443

Yes.  It’s true.  I think I did.  Or at least I hope I did, because the taste of this week’s Tuesday’s with Dorie pick, World Peace Cookies, is fantastic, but don’t seem quite right.  After I pulled them out of my oven, my son came running.  He peered down at them.  “They look funny.” A note of dissapointment was noticiable in his voice.  “Yes,” I agreed and looked forlornly down at them too.

Now the first thing to note about what came out of my oven is that I had to photograph and eat them on a paper towel.  What’s that for, you ask?  The oil.  These cookies definitely have an oily, greasy thing going on right now.  So….. I’m thinking I either baked them too long, or cut them too thin (my measurement abilities could be improved on), or, most likely, both of those options.  They do taste fantastic though.  Good thing I have another log in the freezer to bake up another night.  I’ll try slicing them a little thicker, and cook them a little less, and maybe bake something up with a little more curb appeal.

On the other hand, its not as though these will be going to waste.  Yum, yum, yum. Gulp, Gulp, Gulp.  Wipe, wipe, wipe.  

I am marking this recipe in my cookbook as one to return too often, and if you’d like to try them too, check out the full recipe at  cookbookhabit.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2009 8:38 pm

    Kids, hey?!! I baked mine a little too long for one batch, but I still gobbled them up!

  2. February 4, 2009 11:57 am

    I hope your second batch comes out the way you like…yum yum yum!

  3. pinkstripes permalink
    February 5, 2009 9:47 am

    Oh no. At least the taste was great!

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      February 5, 2009 2:07 pm

      Yes…I esp. hate when a chocolate cookie turns out badly, but if they are edible I still consider it a success!

  4. Maris permalink
    February 5, 2009 8:38 pm

    At least your picture turned out lovely…I think it’;s a nice shot that makes me think of winter!

Leave a Reply

