Skip to content

Seeds.

March 9, 2009

img_38641

This time of year is burgeoning with possibiity.  I feel myself unfurling, just like my little seedlings in my small garden.  Instead of thinking just into the next week, I’m thinking ahead, into spring, then summer–but not quite to Fall– I like to savour that for itself when it comes.  Our weather has been wet insterspersed with sunshine, and lots of puffy clouds, white, grey and purple, hanging low, almost within touch.  I took advantage of a a few days at home with my children during their winter break in February to do some yard maintenance and plant some early seeds–radishes, chard, spinach, lettuce, and carrots.  My son worked diligently with me, turning the soil, and then sprinkling the seeds into our rows– rows that were thrown into a bit of chaos by our Basil who decided this was his new litter box.  We lost two rows of chard to his antics, but I curbed this habit with some netting, chili powder sprinkled around and some diligent watching over.  

img_3862All this action got me thinking about other projects, and other plants for the warming weather.  This sent me off to my favorite seed site artisticgardens.com.  I love this site because you can order sample seeds for 35 cents a pop– it is a much smaller amount then you get in a regular package, but fits my small garden needs perfectly, and allows me to try a wider variety of plants without spending too much– something that is oh so important right now.  I have ordered my seeds and await them anxiously.  In my order?  Tomatoes (cherokee purple, lemon plum, and brandywine), which I will start indoors as soon as they arrive; pickling cucumbers–by special request of my son– he loves pickles and our cucumbers didn’t sprout last year so I will start them inside this year instead of directly planting them; some low growing chamomile and creeping thyme for a stone path on the side of our house that currently is overrun with weeds; and amoungst some various other veggies and flowers (including sunflowers–a favorite with the kids), catnip for Basil– perhaps it will keep him out of our plants.

I just wanted to add a couple links to other seeds of inspiration I saw this morning in a quick blog trolling.

A cute easter/spring/birthday present idea at themayfly

A wonderful example of inspiration from one medium to another in these pillows at Buttons Magee

 My life is pretty much overrun by reading right now (by the way, I highly recommend Garden in the Dunes–it will make you want to begin gardening right now and has a lovely old fashioned feeling to this contemporary novel set at the turn of the century), but I am taking time for my garden and hoping to save up these other seeds of inspiration for small moments I might find throughout the next few months.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 3:27 pm

    thanks for the links. great info! Happy Spring.

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      April 2, 2009 3:34 pm

      Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it!

Trackbacks

  1. Garden Update « jessBcuz

Leave a Reply

