Skip to content

Daffodils.

April 4, 2009
tags:

img_4151Just a little post to let my friends who check up on me here (Sandy!) know that I am moving along, day by day, chugging through my semester of reading and papers, and that my garden is progressing nicely too!  

And to share these daffodils I splurged on a couple days ago (really a cheap thrill).  They have opened up fully since yesterday, a chorus of cheerful shouts full of spring.

Between homework readings, housework (can’t say I do an abundance of this lately), and carpool duty, I’ve been sneaking out into my garden 5 minutes here and there, weeding, watering, and throwing out seeds to see if I can get things to grow without much effort or expense. I would really like to have forget-me-nots in the shady stretch along my house this year (a child-hood nostalgia moment), so I have sprinkled some of those out– it may be too early though and I will buy another package for good measure and toss those next week.  I also found some forgotton fall bulbs that had started to sprout unplanted, and unloved.  I  just tucked them under some soil today, just in case they want to surprise me with some May blooms–this year or next…I won’t be too demanding.   High on my gardening agenda this week is to attend to my seeds I received  from Artistic Gardens; hopefully I will start my tomatoes, cucumbers, and a couple others in my seed trays this weekend, to ready them for planting around the 3rd week of April.  I also have some pests to attend to– snails that is– ravishing my radishes as of late.  Hoping this advice I read here at Times online  will help me.  Goodness knows I can use some help with those snails.  Completely decimated my hostas last summer to the point that I gave them completely up (my beautiful 5 year old hostas), and dug them up.

But first, before seeds and snails, I have a paper to write.  On gardens (English that is, 18th c.), of all things.  That will need a little attention too.  And probably some planting, wedding and watering as well.  Lots of weeding, I’m guessing.  


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    April 5, 2009 12:56 am

    Those daffodils are beautiful Jess! Forget-me-nots are one of the great selsown successes of my garden, along with nasturtiams and sweet alice.

  2. Sandy permalink
    April 5, 2009 12:57 am

    PS forgot the ‘f’ lol

Leave a Reply

