Skip to content

Perfect Porch Time

April 7, 2009
tags:

img_4155The warmer weather has me moving in a lot of different directions. Outside in my garden, but also inside, doing a little spring cleaning. I’ve been digging through my kids drawers to make up boxes of giveaways to pass on, and diving into forgotton piles and boxes of papers that I tend to accumulate through the winter. In one such box I unearthed a recipe I tore last year out of Vegetarian Times. This is a usual sight around my house– ripped recipes from the newspaper or magazines, moved from pile, to pile, to fridge, to pile, and so on, until it either gets tossed, forgotton, or actually made.

This one got made.

This warmer weather had me thinking cool tea instead of my hot tea that has been keeping me company all fall and winter, so this recipe I unearthed was a perfectly serendiptious finding– it is for a sorrel drink. I brewed up some yesterday (using the Red Zinger tea alternate), and mixed with a little ice and cranberry juice today. Perfect.  

Even more perfect was I my friend stopped by and shared some with me.  

A cool drink.  Warm sunshine.  Rocking chairs on my porch.  Lovely chat.  Now that really is perfect.

Sorrel Drink
adapted from Vegetarian Times, June 2008
5 Red Zinger tea bags (Celestial Seasonings), or 3 cups dried sorrel or red hibiscus flowers
1 cinnamon stick
10 whole cloves (I didn’t count, just shook some in)
1/4 tsp. ground allspice (a generous pinch will do)
2 3-inch pieces peeled fresh ginger

Bring all the ingredients and 4 cups water to a boil in a saucepan. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer 10 minutes. Cool, strain, and chill.

They suggest making simple syrup and sweetening as needed, but I just mixed with a little cranberry juice I had on hand– about 3/4 tea to 1/4 part juice. I’m thinking some mint leaves or orange slices might be nice to garnish it and add a little added flavor.

Leave a Reply

