Skip to content

Hurry, Hurry! Curry Dinner

April 9, 2009

chicken-curryWe’re leaving town today for a long Easter weekend visiting relatives, and last night I found myself faced with a semi-empty fridge, and dinner to make.  As we will be out of town, I wanted to use what we had, but looking about I didn’t see much, except pasta.  And that particular dinner choice is a bit overdone in our house.  We did have a nice looking cauliflower from our CSA last week, really needing to be used up before we leave, and a quick look in the freezer yielded some chicken breasts.  “Roasted Cauliflower and Curry!” I thought.  But quickly.  

The roasted cauliflower was straight forward (and my new favorite way to make cauliflower as it accentuates the sweetness of  it (I never thought of cauliflower as sweet before having it roasted).  But the curry posed a different problem.  I’ve made various curry recipes over the years, but haven’t really found one that I could pull together without much thought or forethought– so back to the drawing board again (or rather to google).  

My friend Ana had just mentioned using a web recipe database this week to find a birthday cake recipe for her husband (she made a butter cake, something I’d never heard of, but am curious to try now), and so a recipe websearch came to mind right away.  A quick  search led me to a newish looking UK blog titled, Fat Free Indian Cooking with what looked like a quick and easy chicken curry recipe.  I gave it try, and working just with what I had on hand, it turned out great.  Plus, it was Easy!  and fairly quick…Hard to gauge as I was chit-chatting with a neighbor, and then orchestrating piano practicing and kindergarten letter writing during the preperation– I suppose this could have slowed me down a bit!  A real bonus to this recipe was that it had a low spice level– perfect for the kids.

I have to say, even though I have a gajillion cookbooks, I really do love the internet for recipes.  If anyone has any good recipes they found on the internet please share!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ana Blake permalink
    April 11, 2009 5:11 pm

    WOW! I feel so honored to have made it onto your blog! 🙂 I hope you have/had a great Easter weekend!

Leave a Reply

