Skip to content

My Pysanky Egg- unabashed love.

April 20, 2009

img_4276This post is basically to show off my little pysanky egg.  My first and only, and therefore my favorite.  My friend Lara has been describing these eggs to me for the past couple years, each time Easter rolled around, and finally I happened by her house with some time when all her supplies were out.  She led me through the process with this little brown egg, showing me how to heat the wax, designs to copy, and setting the timer for the dye.

img_4268img_4275All in all this little egg took about two hours.  The patience and time it took alone make it not a likely activity for me, but it was a fun afternoon diversion.  She told me where I can get all the supplies to set myself up, but I’m pretty sure that the only pysanky eggs I make will be from her house.  It’s her friendshp and company that helped make the long delicate work more fun.

But!  if you’d like to try out this cool craft, this is the company a lot of her supplies came from: Ukranian Gift Shop.  If you’re thinking about doing this with children, keep in mind that it takes extremely developed fine motor skills and could prove discouraging for kids younger than 9 or 10 who want to replicate a pattern.  Of course, they can experiement with the technique without set patterns, with much more success, but still need to be old enough to work with warm wax and a candle flame.  Even as an adult, that was a bit daunting!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 8:29 pm

    WOW! What talent you have… I’m impressed… such delicate fingers must be fairy fingers! Bravo!

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      April 20, 2009 8:33 pm

      Thanks! Not quite fairy fingers, but I did have fun making it and am proud as can be of it!

Leave a Reply

