Skip to content

Line Love.

April 29, 2009

[No picture here today, for reasons that will soon become apparent.]

I am angling for a clothesline.  I’m ready to pull out all the stops to get one, even against the resistance of my husband, who thinks our yard is too small.  I’m thinking I might even ask for one for my birthday.  Truly.  

img_4091

[I have no line of my own, and so I have no picture of one.  Just my yard as is.  Just close your eyes and imagine it with me.  That’s what I’ve been doing each time I look at my back windows lately.]

img_4099

[I do however have two children in my yard at most times (can you tell yet which one likes to ham it up for the camera). Which brings me to my problem, where do they go?]

Generally when I need to air dry something it gets hung on a small bar in my laundry area, hung over the backs of our porch rockers, or even slung over the monkey bars of my kids playset.  But a little heat wave we had recently, along with some inspiration I found from a local artist and clothesline vendor, has me hankering awful bad for my very own full line and a summertime hiatus from our dryer.

Get inspired yourself and check out LineDry.com’s art page.  I especially like  “blue socks” and “morning dew 2” in the “colors” slideshow.  Or, if you have your own line, help me out with some tips and tricks, or good arguments to feed my husband.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ana Blake permalink
    April 29, 2009 11:26 am

    I read about a woman who hung a rod over her bathtub so she could hang clothes on hangers on it and they could drip dry into the tub.

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      May 6, 2009 8:51 am

      now that’s an idea! that’s what we did when we were traveling through europe many years ago. washed in the sink, hung on a travel line, stretched over the tub. it had two little suction cups to hang it.

  2. Sandy permalink
    April 30, 2009 4:52 pm

    Hi Jess,

    Firstly can I say your kids have grown heaps, haven’t they?

    Lines: In the sun and then it’s just a matter of what type. I’m sure if you do a google image search you will be blown away by all the types available. Fold up, fold down, rotary, basic homemade jobbies between two posts etc. Off to my essay. Happy planning. PS just wait for that gorgeous sun-dried texture, warmth and clean-smell.

Leave a Reply

