Skip to content

Found Poems.

May 27, 2009

swirl power

Swirl Power.  I mean, it really doesn’t get better than that does it?

Today I joined my daughter in her classroom to lead an activity.  Her teacher has been inviting parents into the classroom for the past couple weeks to talk about their work and do activities with the class as they liked.  I was so excited to have the time to do so as my semester is over (OVER!), but wasn’t sure at first at what to do.  I wear so many hats (like most of us): graduate student, composition teacher, substitute teacher, loan agent, mother, volunteer (and the hats I wear as a volunteer also go on and on). What should/could/would I talk about? do? with them.  

Deciding I couldn’t really compete with the court reporter and her machine that spelled their names in mysterious ways, I decided to instead focus on something that has been important to me for most of my life: writing.

I thought back to one of my favorite memories as a writing child: working on creating a poetry book in 6th grade (yes, Anna, it is true–I have unearthed our great works! Our alphabet poems rock!).  With this inspiration I decided that working with other people’s words by making found poems might be an interesting creative exercise for these second graders.  And boy, they did have fun with it!

I found this great resource here, and read a couple selections to them.  I shared one of my (many) cat poems from my 6th grade collaborative poetry book.  (I also shared the fact that although I wrote many cat poems, I did not in fact have a cat then.)

My kids have now gone Found Poem crazy and I can see my recycle bin filling up with dissected magazines this summer.  And their creations are…inspired.  That really is the only word that can describe poems titled: Swirl Power and A break in the Fence.  Especially those of my six year old–still an emerging reader that attacks his constructions with enthusiastic aplomb.

Next we will work alliterative verse and iambic pentameter.  But I think this will do us nicely for now.

IMG_4820

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    May 28, 2009 12:38 pm

    Hooray! I loved doing this with my high school students. I would love to see more of Thea and Ian’s work. So great! And as for 6th grade poetry, I still feel proud of that book. Maybe I’ll write you a poem to celebrate it. 🙂

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      May 28, 2009 5:50 pm

      I will have them make up a little book for you all to enjoy!

  2. May 28, 2009 2:37 pm

    that is a great idea. I love collage, but never thought to use the words to form poetry. thanks.

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      May 28, 2009 5:49 pm

      Hope you have fun with it!

Trackbacks

  1. Teaching: money « jessBcuz

Leave a Reply

