Skip to content

Teaching: money

May 28, 2009

 

IMG_4615

In my last post I admitted something I don’t often talk about.   I am a loan agent.  This hasn’t been a huge part of my life for the past couple years as I focused on my graduate studies in English, but it is something that I do, and something I have experience in.  That experience has allowed me access to to a broad knowledge of how people spend (and save) their money, and truly underscored for me the importance of teaching children about money.  And about doing that teaching and talking sooner, rather than later.

A fellow parent in my daughter’s class (and friend of mine) also participated in the parent’s weeks I mentioned yesterday, and was going into talk about being a CPA.  We were kicking around activities to introduce a bit of what she does and struck upon divided savings banks (spending/saving/donating), something that we both try to stress with our children.  I poked around a bit for her, thinking I might find some clever blogger who had an easy way to make a divided bank with kids, but was only able to find pics of jelly jars, each one with a handmade label. (see that here)  Cute idea, but not suitable for a take-home classroom activity.  I came up with a shoe box idea, but in the end just forwarded her this link: moonjar.com.

My friend ended up ordering their classroom kit, and my daughter came home with her moonjar today.  She was chatty about what she was saving for (pogo stick, and could I please tell her how much that would be, thank you very much), donating to (children’s hospitals–I have a feeling this was something they discussed in class), and what she would be spending on (a car–really not sure on this one but it was a noisy ride home with our carpool).  So while we could have constructed our very own divided savings bank from a shoebox, the moonjar kit seems to have done the job on helping along our conversations about spending $, saving $, and helping others.  

Now for the earning $ part.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

