Skip to content

Summer Reading: my list

June 2, 2009

IMG_4919I have mentally compiling my summer reading list for the last couple weeks as I finally find myself with open reading time (glorious, glorious summer!). I know I won’t get through all of these (my eyes are bigger than my stomach, so to speak), but I love  realizing how many potentially good reads there are out there.  Share yours too, won’t you?

  1. Vanessa & Virginia by Susan Sellers-one of my books to review, but my love of V. Woolf makes this one extra special
  2. Dreaming in Hindi by Katherine Russell Rich- review book, looks relatively light though so I think it will be perfect for a lazy day in the back yard or at the beach with the kids
  3. The Brief Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz- recommended by three good friends, and my husband
  4. Stone Virgins by Yvonne Vera – a  friend of mine wrote a brilliant paper on this book so I think it deserves my attetion soon
  5. Land of Marvels by Barry Unsworth-another review book.  I tried to start it during my semester, but it deserved my undivided attention so I decided to save it for summer.  It looks promising from what I’ve read.
  6. The Autograph Man by Zadie Smith- I have loved her other books but had never heard of this one
  7. Love & Obstacles by Aleksandar Hemon
  8. Run by Ann Pachett- She seems like the perfect summer read author & a friend recommended this one
  9. Testament of Youth by Vera Brittain- I’ve been trying to get to this one for a year and was interested to see that a new hardcover edition is coming out this summer
  10. something by Julian Barnesnot sure what yet, but I’ve got Something to Declare on hand so that will probably be it.  I read Arthur & George, and Flaubert’s Parrot–1 each the past 2 summers, so I figure it is kind of a tradition now for me. 

I’m sure I’ll be adding others as the months go along.  Especially because I keep coming across great summer reading lists like these ones at NPR. Oh!  I just remembered someone recommended Revolutionary Road to me too.  Ah!  Never enough reading time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

