Skip to content

New things.

June 4, 2009

IMG_4879

As I am constantly trying to resist my consumer tendencies, I don’t normally like to flaunt my purchases here, but I did make two purchases recently that made me very very happy.  One is those cheery looking measuring cups.  No, I didn’t need them–I have 2 sets already, but they do make me smile and I have a thing for kitchen gadget/tools (especially inexpensive ones).  How do I justify it?  Well, I’m a messy cook, and need (like) to have everything in twos and threes for my big baking extravaganzas when I use every bowl, spoon, and measuring cup in the house (pretty much every time I bake).

IMG_4909My other little splurge was for this hat.  This great big brimmed I-wish-I-was-audrey-hepburn-but-realize-I-am-not black hat.  Of course, I also had to get some nice over-sized black sunglasses to go with it.   I figured if I was really going to go for the look, I might as well go all the way.  I am hoping this ensemble will add a little dramatic flair to my suburban housewife summer activities. I fully anticipate it will even if it is only my kids wondering why I am going everywhere in disguise.  Or why I have taken to making breakfast  while wearing this get-up and keep finding excuses to bake in front of guests (with things that call for measuring cups).

But you’ll know.  I mean if you have it, you might as well flaunt it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2009 6:38 am

    I love your new hat!

Leave a Reply

