Skip to content

Organizing.

June 8, 2009

IMG_4991
In preparation for a sewing frenzy I feel building in my bones, I’ve been taking some time to prepare my sewing corner.  It has been languishing in a state of sad neglect and disrepair, but it was time to tackle it.  My first task was to sort through and organize my fabric.  I had more than my two trusty shelves could hold and it had overflowed into some bags, and less sightly piles around my machine table.  Not able to part with more than a few cuts of fabric, I opted for moving my more “winter” fabrics (mostly flannels for kids p.j.’s) into a tub that will be stored neatly in our garage.  That was a tremendous help in winnowing down my supply to something I could handle.  But still– it looks a bit excessive.

[I noted a couple bloggers (madebyrae and someone else I can’t remember!) lamenting their growing fabric stashes in recent weeks, and in answer to the one I can’t remember– Yes!  I think you can thrift too much!]

Unhindered by what my husband is sure is more than a lifetime supply of material, I decided to sort these dozens of possible projects into seemly color coordinated stacks.  Greys and whites here.  Blues there.  Reds and Yellows over there.  All in all, I am happy with the result and even more please that when I returned my piles to their shelf–they fit!  

[The top, unshown, shelf is reserved for mostly “decorator”-type fabric I’m hoping to use to transform some of my furniture this summer.  Keep your fingers crossed. Some of it has been up there for a couple years.]

Even if I don’t ever get through my stash, at least I can be sure it looked pretty while it was waiting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 2:59 pm

    I’ve been in an organizing frenzy too, although not fabric, but paperwork. My fabric stash is small at the moment, but I’m hitting the markets of Amsterdam tomorrow on a fabric hunt, so look out!

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      June 13, 2009 9:29 pm

      Oh! I hope you post some fabric finds! I’ve also got paperwork piles to attend to, but mine seem to reappear faster than I clear them! The fabric behaves itself much better and only needs my assistance every 6-12 mos.

Leave a Reply

