Skip to content

From the garden: Bounty

June 17, 2009

IMG_4942

This is what I pulled in from my spring garden a week or so back when I was clearing the boxes for a second go.  All piled up like that it looked like quite a harvest!  We’ve been slowly eating it up, and just used up what I think is the last of it last night in a tasty little pasta dish from Jamie Oliver’s  “Jamie’s Dinners” cookbook.  I located the recipe, my husband did the honors.  It is a very simple red sauce that takes just a few moments, then you stir in some spinach (we used some from our garden), add pasta, and then, what really made this yum, sprinkle it with goat cheese.  This is why I love cookbooks!  I would of never ever thought of having goat cheese on red pasta, but it was unbelievably tasty.

I’m posting a link to a version of the recipe, but his cookbook version is more laid back prose style (which, by the by, my husband really liked).  The main thing we changed was no red chile (we didn’t have one), but instead used canned roasted tomatoes with chiles in them–the sauce had a nice little heat to the sauce, but also passed the kid test.

Jamie Oliver’s Simple Tomato Sauce- We did the goat cheese version–Highly recommended!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 3:38 pm

    This sounds amazing — and with your beautiful fresh produce — that would really put it over the top! What a great harvest you had!!

    • June 21, 2009 9:29 am

      The best part is–the kids get so excited about it. My son was especially proud of his carrots!

  2. June 21, 2009 9:25 am

    Your harvest looks so yummy. I am glad we did the tomatoes this year, but I do wish we had more. I had a friend give me some of her lettuce last week and I think it was probably the best I have ever had. The bigger garden is a must for next year. I’ll keep the blog updated with the tomato progress. Hopefully it is as successful as I hope.

    • June 21, 2009 9:30 am

      Yes, you can’t beat fresh homegrown produce. Can’t wait to see tomato progress!

Leave a Reply

