Skip to content

Sweet Day in the City

June 22, 2009

DSCN0319

We spent last Friday down in San Francisco hitting some of our favorite spots, and discovering a couple new ones with my sister and her family.  What my sister and brother-n-law soon discovered is that whenever I travel (whether 50 miles or 500) I tend to gravitate toward food.  For me it is all about eating, especially if we are talking something sweet.  In that vein, I thought I’d share some sweet highlights from our day in the city—and yes, we did know we were being a bit excessive and we loved every mouthful of it.

We started our day with a picnic lunch near the Exploratorium (more on some of our picnic food tomorrow), then an hour or so inside with the kids checking out some of our favorite exhibits (quiet walking and marbles were tops this time).  We became members in January so we’ve been hitting the Exploratorium every other month or so and we never even get close to seeing everything.  If you haven’t been, you have to go–even if you don’t have kids.

Next we drove across town to park near Union Square. We walked a couple blocks to the Bart station and took what my son was called “Rabid” Transit across to the Mission District.   Little did I know this was my brother-n-law’s old haunt, which came in handy when we all became turned around.  First stop though was Mission Pie.  This was a new one for us, but oh yum!  That is their banana cream featured at the top of this post, and their raspberry-peach sneaking in the picture on the side.  My husband is a pie LOVER so I know we’ll be back here next time we are down that way.

Our sweet tooth satisfied for the moment, we walked to the “pirate store,” 826 Valencia, but stopped in at Dog-Eared Books on the way (free children’s book bin out front left us with loaded arms after that).  Kids explored the pirate store with all its drawers, and treasurers.  In the end my son decided he would part with some of his stockpiled treasure for a wooden snake, my daughter with hers for a large iron lock (you never know when that might come in handy), and I picked up a copy of The Believer.  We didn’t have time to stop in as real hunger had struck, but I do love to look around Paxton Gate as well when we are down there. My brother-n-law led us to one of his favorite taquerias (El Buen Sabor,or maybe El Toro…. I think), and then we were back on the sweets hunt.  We back tracked a bit to Bi-Rite Creamery, and then finished off our day at Tartine Bakery with some cookies to go. [You might remember some sweets I’ve made at home from their cookbook in these past posts: chocolate cake and banana cream tartlets.]

All in all a busy, totally exhausting, but really really yummy day.

If you are headed to S.F. and aren’t familiar with the area, I found this cool walking tour of the Mission that mentions many of these stops.  You may want to check it out.

A few pics from our day:

 

View from our picnic lunch.

View from our picnic lunch.

 

826 Valencia (pirate store) front window display

826 Valencia (pirate store) front window display

DSCN0330

A little music appreciation at Tartine

Strawberry-Balsamic Scoop

Superb Strawberry-Balsamic Scoop at Bi-Rite

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    June 22, 2009 10:57 pm

    Great post Jess, I haven’t told you that San Fran is one of my favourite US cities. Now I am sighing that it’s been oh a mere 22 years since I was last there. I can recall checking into our hotel and watching that show Oprah that I’d been hearing about and munching on Pringles (not then available in Australia) just like it was yesterday.

  2. jessbcuz permalink*
    June 22, 2009 11:01 pm

    Well, maybe you’ll make it out here again one day and we can have a real visit! While we eat sweets, of course.
    Yeah, we love S.F. too…probably one of the reasons we’ve never moved too far away from it. We plan on getting down there a couple more times this summer–we just couldn’t fit everything in last Friday!

Trackbacks

  1. Food & Friends: a thank you « jessBcuz

Leave a Reply

