Skip to content

Food & Friends: a thank you

July 3, 2009
tags:

DSCN0274O.K.  So not the prettiest of pictures of this scrumptious dessert, but it went so fast, this was the best I could do.  More important than the picture though is to send a HUGE thank you to my friend since pre-school (right?), Anna, who sent me a delicious early b-day present a couple weeks ago–a cookbook that led to this yumminess above.  It still surprises me how much Anna and I have in common, and how well she knows me.  We haven’t lived in the same town since we were about 10 years old, but every time she sends a gift I LOVE it.  Now how many people can do that?  She has some sort of talent!  She has introduced me to some of my favorite musicians through CD gifts, and to top it all off, when we had a visit last summer after a couple years, we were surprised to find we read many of the same blogs.  

rustic fruit desserts

Well, this year’s gift was just as wonderful, and spot on.  Rustic Fruit Desserts.  I hadn’t heard of it (which is surprising in itself), but as I turned the pages I kept saying, “I want to make that, and that, and that…..”  I jumped right in (I mean why wait when it comes to dessert), and as I had just bought a dozen peaches to make my favorite peach cobbler, I quickly decided to try the Carmel Peach Grunt instead.  My favorite thing about this ‘grunt’ was that it is cooked in a cast iron pan, and moves from stove top to oven without dirtying a new dish.  I’m always looking for cast iron pan recipes, and this one suggested another way to utilize my favorite pan.  

In the end, I found that it was almost exactly like the cobbler I usually make, but slightly sweeter (because of the carmel sauce the peaches are in).  The recipe was flawless, which promises great things for this cookbook.  I made it to bring to a friends house for dessert (Dawn, you should have tried some! but I know your kids enjoyed it) and then brought the left-overs on our picnic in the city a couple weeks back (yes, I have been slow in posting this).  The recipe says it doesn’t keep well, but I found that a day in the fridge did it no harm.  Of course it is always better warm, and with a little melting vanilla ice cream with it, but I think the topping develops a little more flavor as it sits.

Thanks Anna for another great gift!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    July 6, 2009 6:38 pm

    Finally catching up with my blog reading! I’m so glad this book is a hit: thought it would be. And fwiw, I read about it on Angry Chicken.

    I also am amazed at how much we have in common and how well we know each other. And very grateful.

Trackbacks

  1. Giving. « jessBcuz

Leave a Reply

