Skip to content

Thoughts: 4th of July & one year blogging

July 4, 2009

DSCN0503Happy 4th of July!  I’m not the most patriotic gal on the block, but I do look forward to some great food, and old fashioned fireworks.  I’m a sucker for letting my kids stay up late, and this year we will be out at my mom’s where we can walk down to the bridge to watch the show, small town style.

Posting this weekend also has me thinking about last year, when I started in on this blog after a false start the summer before.  I started out on July 1st of last year with a little 4th of July craft done with the kids, and 147 posts later, this blog has become a part of my life.  It gives me a chance to write a little every week, motivates me to try new things, and helps me appreciate the things I’m doing.  It also has led me to make some new “virtual” friends, and let some of my far-flung ones in on my life.  Ahh…I’m feeling a little sentimental now.  Just perfect for a patriotic weekend!

And on a less sentimental note…a little bit on the Ribbon Wreath:

The ribbon wreath above was a crafty moment I experienced a couple years back (MS inspired again, I believe although I couldn’t find it easily on their site–did find lots of other patriotic decorations and crafts though!).  Easy enough for kids to do and would be fun to customize for other holidays or celebrations.  You could also handwrite a message, scroll the paper, and stick it in the middle–I do something similar for my daughter’s birthday with a bell wreath I have.  Only materials needed are embroidery hoop and ribbons cut to about 9-12 inch lengths, and spray starch, or other stiffener.

Another version on this theme here at Ducks in a Row

And check out this Halloween version at thelongthread.com

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2009 10:41 am

    Congratulations on year one of memory keeping! I love this wreath. I don’t have many decorations for the 4th of July and I would really like to make it for next year.

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      July 5, 2009 4:26 pm

      Thanks! Yes, this is just about my only decoration for the 4th–I don’t go too crazy on the holidays, but my kids do enjoy decorating with me…Hope you enjoyed your 4th.

  2. Sandy permalink
    July 5, 2009 12:34 pm

    Congrats on one great year Jess – quite an achievement I feel. Sometimes I make a little effort on 4th July to acknowledge Kent’s american origins. This year that amounted to taking him to a little sweet shop which also staocks some US foods. Angel Food cake mix at $9.95 per box antone?!

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      July 5, 2009 4:15 pm

      for angel food mix? oh my.

  3. Sandy permalink
    July 5, 2009 12:35 pm

    Actually that was ‘anyone’…..

Leave a Reply

