Skip to content

Berry Berry Good.

July 8, 2009

DSCN0386

I’m having childhood flashbacks of Strawberry Shortcake and all her pals, esp. Blueberry Muffin, and Raspberry Tart.  If you’re feeling extra nostalgic like me in response to the over-abundance of ripe berries to eat, you might like to watch some of the original S.S. cartoons.  Or check out some doll images to refresh your memory of long forgotten toy love.  Little did I know we had “second issue” dolls (we had Lemon Meringue, Raspberry Tart, and Strawberry Shortcake), now considered “vintage” (didn’t realize I was that old).  My sis also had a “blowkiss” Strawberry baby doll–I had no idea that was what it was called– that we loved to sniff, and sniff, and sniff–that smell is with me still today.  I’d forgotten it was even a show, but watching part of it on that youtube clip I realized I had seen it at least once or twice as a child.  And oh my, did I love my Strawberry Shortcake and friends.  Loved them to pieces.  I still have the few dolls my sis and I shared but they don’t look very purty anymore–the clothing is tattered and stained, and they are looking a little bald.  And they live in the garage.

But there are some berries that I can still love, and that look pretty good–the ones that come in my CSA box, and grow in my garden.  Oh my, are they good.  Last week we got boysenberries in our CSA box, and I immediately knew I was making the Fresh Berry Tart with Toasted Nut Crust (page 70) from the latest issue of Vegetarian Times.  Their picture had struck another nostalgic chord with me– a yogurt pie my mom made when I was little, with a graham cracker crust, I think.  This recipe looked like that one, only grown up with a nut crust.  I gathered up the few ripe (and not snail eaten) blueberries and strawberries from my yard to mix in, and in no time at all had this dessert ready to go.  Berry berry good.  Berry berry easy.  And probably the closest I’m going to get to a grown-up version of Strawberry Shortcake, and her pals.

I can live with that.

Fresh Berry Tart with Toasted Nut Crust

from the July/August 2009 issue of Vegetarian Times

Crust:

1/4 cup each almonds, pecans, & hazelnuts (I dislike hazelnuts, so I substituted walnuts)

3/4 cup whole-wheat flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 tsp. salt

6 Tbs. chilled unsalted butter, diced

1 large egg yolk

Filling:

1/2 cup light sour cream (I used regular I had on hand)

1/2 cup nonfat plain Greek Yogurt (I think I used lowfat I had on hand)

2 Tbs. light brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 tsp. grated orange zest

1 cup blue berries (I just used berries I had which was blueberries, strawberries & boysenberries prob around 2 cups worth)

1 cup raspberries

1 Tbs. orange juice (whoops! just realized I didn’t do use this!)

1.  To make crust: Preheat oven to 350.  Coat 9-inch tart pan with cooking spray.  Spread nuts on baking sheet, and toast in oven 12-15 minutes, or unitl browned.

2.  Pulse nuts, flour, sugar, and salt in food processor until nuts are ground to powder.  Add butter, and pulse until mixture resembles coarse emal.  Add egg yolk, and puse until moist clumps form.  Press dough into bottom and sides of prepared pan, about 1/4-inch thick, and pierce with fork.  Freeze 30 minutes.

3.  Adjust oven temp to 400.  Bake crust 12-14 minutes, or until golden.  Cool.

4.  To make filling: whisk together sour cream, yogurt, brown sugar, vanilla, and orange zest in small bowl.  Toss berries with orange juice in separate bowl (I forgot this step and it was still great).

5.  Spread sour creammixutre in crust with spatula.  Spoon beries over top a little at a time, until sour cream mixture is evenly covered.  Refrigerate 30 to 60 minutes before serving.  Can be made up to 3 days ahead and refrigerated until ready to use.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 6:12 am

    This looks gorgeous, and best of all it’s simple to make!

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      July 13, 2009 7:59 am

      and easy to eat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

