Skip to content

Have Zucchini Bread. Will Travel.

July 13, 2009

photoThe picture above does not do justice to this zucchini bread.  Or perhaps it does.  It does document how good it was.  So good, that it was all but gone when I realized that I hadn’t snapped a pic of it, and was planning on posting about it today.  You’ll notice that I only show a portion of the loaf.  That would be because the rest of it was gone.  Oh.  And the other 3 loaves as well.  Eaten for breakfast, midnight snack, car snack, and afternoon snack.  In about 2 days flat.  Almost all by me.   I kept trying to share, but was fighting a hoarding instinct the entire time.

Zucchini bread in question?  Heidi Swanson’s recipe for My Special Zucchini Bread, from 101cookbooks.com, that I printed off a couple months ago, waiting for zucchini season to hit.  When I opened our CSA box to find it had, I reserved a couple to try this bread.  What makes it stand out?  Use of curry powder and chopped crystallized ginger (I have to note that I was in fact out of curry but substituted equal parts 5 spice blend and garam masala with great results).  Gave it that zing that seperates it from every other zucchini bread, and cut some of the sweetness.  If you’ve got some zucchini lying around, you might try it too.  Just be aware.  Very dangerous.  It dissapears before you know it.

I took our loaves along to a quick trip to San Jose this weekend, so I thought I’d share a couple snaps from our trip.  My husband’s parents were treating, and we stayed in a picture worthy hotel called the Sainte-Claire.  Very posh, by our standards. (They had robes!) Very nice treat. We visited the Tech Museum, and ate.  And ate.  And ate.  We enjoyed a couple italian meals, one at Original Joe’s— 1950’s authentic West Coast italian–with no waiter under 50 years old.  Although I’m not usually a breakfast person, my favorite meal was at the Il Fornaio–French Toast with marcapone cheese and berries, with maple syrup.  Oh my.  The marscapone was just right and will be repeated here at home.  

Now back to reality.  House cleaning, car fixing, broken washing machines, and work.   Ahh.  Summer.

 

Running the stairs.  There was an elevator, but we opted for these most of the time.

Running the stairs. There was an elevator, but we opted for these most of the time.

Post Box.  So cooly ornate.  We've lost a lot of these details in recent years.

Post Box. So cooly ornate. We've lost a lot of these details in recent years.

 

Up close and person with the letterbox.

Up close and person with the letterbox.

Original Joe's minestrone.  My son ordered it, but we all kept "tasting" it until it was gone.

Original Joe's minestrone. My son ordered it, but we all kept "tasting" it until it was gone.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2009 5:39 am

    Thanks for reminding me about this great zucchini bread recipe! My boyfriend has some sort of hate-hate relationship with zucchini, so maybe I can get him to eat it this way?

Trackbacks

  1. Indulgence and Confession « jessBcuz

Leave a Reply

