Skip to content

Laundry Lesson Learned

July 15, 2009

photo-2You may remember that some months past I was lusting for a clothesline.   First, I tried a drying rack (brilliant idea Sandy, but still working out the kinks), but didn’t buy a quality specimen, and, let’s just say I learned my lesson about investing my money wisely.

DSCN0461We tried repairing it, but we finally decided to let it go.  Instead, on a trip to the hardware store, I bought myself some old-fashioned clothesline, and some clothespins to go with.  Rather than sink posts in my yard (as was one of my plans) I decided to use some existing posts–the swing set, and an olive tree.  I’ve jimmy-rigged myself a clothesline for the summer, and have successfully hung up 3 loads this week.

photo-4

Of course the first load I hung in the evening, thinking I would gather it in the morning, only to find the bottom portion of the pant legs sogged from the sprinkler action during the night.  Oh well.  Another lesson learned.  Hang and collect laundry during daylight.

photo-3

I’d like to get another rack for the cooler/wetter months, when I might have a random sunny day to hang out laundry, but won’t want to keep the line up all the time, however next time I will definitely be looking for something sturdier.

But for now, I’m enjoying what I’ve got.  A little squished, and somewhat blocking the kids’ swings, but I”m working with it.  And so are they.  My son has already helped me hang a load, and I’ve been enjoying the chance to sneak outside while doing “housework.”  It slows me down a bit, but in a good way.

photo

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2009 7:02 am

    We just put up a clothes line about a week ago. There’s something calming for me about hanging up clothes on a line. I still pop them in the dryer on the air only cycle for a few min. so they don’t stand on their own but I love it even with all the extra time the whole process takes.

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      July 17, 2009 9:07 am

      I agree. Definitely something calming. I also determined that for towels and a couple terry cloth pieces of clothing I might have to stick with the dryer–too scratchy.

  2. July 19, 2009 5:27 pm

    Your photos make housework look almost dreamy. I have thought about this myself and wonder if my clothes would dry well even with humidity. I might have to see for myself.

  3. July 23, 2009 7:29 am

    I love your ethereal photos of clothes hanging on the line! Nostalgic, tranquil beauty! Way to go!!

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      July 25, 2009 8:27 am

      Thank you! I’ve had some fun taking photos of them too, although my kids keep asking me what I’m doing, and my cat was looking very quizzically at me the other day.

  4. Sandy permalink
    July 24, 2009 11:18 pm

    Well done Jess, I can see I will have to send you some more pegs though. Did you realise each Aussie mum has her own perfect version of pegging – mine is different from my mum’s. You obviously don’t get the windy weather we get lol.
    As for the scratchy towels I hate to say it but you are being wimpy…..

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      July 25, 2009 8:26 am

      Yes. Have already realized I don’t have enough clothespins. What’s your method? And how do you move them about–right now I seem to end up with a bunch clipped to the bottom of my shirt as I go. And yes. I am wimpy. But I prefer the term “sensitive” or even “delicate.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

